Skip to main content

APA Style

Your guide to citing and referencing in APA Style (7th edition)

Book in Print

Reference

Author Last Name, Author initials. (Year). Book title in italics: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Publisher.

Bauldoff, G., Gubrud-Howe, P. M., Carno, M., & LeMone, P. (2020). LeMone & Burke's medical-surgical nursing: Clinical reasoning in patient care. Pearson Education.

In-text Citation

(Author Last Name, Year, p. #).

(Bauldoff et al., 2017, p. 125).

eBook from a Library Database

Most eBooks area available through a variety of databases, so it's not necessary to name the database where you found the eBook.

Include information about the database only if it's necessary for readers to retrieve the eBook from the exact database, or if the work has a limited circulation.

Reference

Author Last Name, Author initials.  (Year). Title of book in italics. Publisher.

Balgopal, P. R. (2000). Social work practice with immigrants and refugees. Columbia University Press.

In-text Citation

(Author Last Name, Year, p. #).

(Balgopal, 2000, p. 105).

eBook from a Website

Include an originally published date only if the book has been previously published.

Reference

Author Last Name, Author initials. (Year). Book title in italics: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Publisher name. Hyperlinked URL (Originally published date, if applicable)

Doyle, A.C. (2015). Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. Harper & Brothers. https://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/1661 (Originally published in 1892)

In-text Citation

(Author Last Name, Year, p. #).

(Doyle, 1892/2015, p. 105).

Edition Other Than the First

Include edition information for books that are editions other than the first. For first editions, no edition information is necessary.

Reference

Author Last Name, Author initials. (Year). Title of book in italics: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle (Edition ordinal number ed.). Publisher name.

Ferguson, C. R., & Kirkpatrick, A. (2016). Internal combustion engines: Applied thermosciences (3rd ed.). John Wiley & Sons.

In-text Citation

(Author Last Name, Year, p. #).

(Ferguson & Kirkpatrick, 2016, p. 132).

Chapter in an Edited Book

Reference

Author (of the chapter) Last Name, Author initials. (Year). Title of the chapter. In book editor(s) initials, Last Name (Ed(s).), Book title in italics: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle (range of pages in the chapter). Publisher.

Penne, K. L. (2014). Diagnosis of cancer. In G. W. Davidson, J. L. Lester, & M. Routt (Eds.), Surgical oncology nursing (pp. 13-24). Oncology Nursing Society.

In-text Citation

(Author Last Name, Year, p. #).

(Penne, 2014, p. 15).

Work in an Anthology

Works that have been published elsewhere before being published in the anthology must include the original year of publication. This information can usually be found on the first or last page of the work in the anthology.

Reference

Author(s) (of the work) Last Name, Author initials. (Year). Title of the work. In book editor(s) initials, Last Name (Ed(s).), Book title in italics: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle (page range of chapter). Publisher. (Original work published year)

Brown, M. W. (1998). Goodnight moon. In J. Schulman (Ed.), The 20th century children's book treasury (pp. 34-41). Alfred A. Knopf. (Original work published 1947)

In-text Citation

(Author Last Name, Year, p. #).

(Brown, 1947/1998, p. 36).

Entry in an Online Encyclopedia, Group Author

Note: When online reference works are continuously updated and no archived version is provided, enter “n.d.” for the year and provide a retrieval date.

Reference 

Institution or organization name. (Year). Title of entry. In Title of reference work: Subtitle. Retrieved from Month Day, Year, from hyperlinked URL

Encyclopedia.com. (n.d.). Human trafficking. In Encyclopedia.com. Retrieved April 30, 2020, from https://www.encyclopedia.com/social-sciences/encyclopedias-almanacs-transcripts-and-maps/human-trafficking

In-text Citation

(Institution or organization name, Year, para. #).

(Encyclopedia.com, n.d., para. 2).

Entry in an Online Encyclopedia, Individual Author

When online reference works are continuously updated and no archived version is provided, enter “n.d.” for the year and provide a retrieval date.

Reference 

Last Name, F. M. (n.d.). Title of entry. In F. M. Last Name (ed.), Title of reference work (edition). Publisher. Retrieved from Month Day, Year, from hyperlinked URL

Wooditch, A. C. and Steverson, L.A. (n.d.). Human trafficking. In Encyclopedia britannica. Retrieved April 30, 2020, from https://www.britannica.com/topic/human-trafficking

In-text Citation

(Author Last Name, Year, para. #).

(Wooditch & Steverson, n.d,, para. 2).

Entry in a Print Encyclopedia, Individual Author

Reference 

Last Name, F. M. (Year). Title of entry. In F. M. Last Name (ed.), Title of reference work (edition, page numbers). Publisher.

Rippe, J. M. (2012). Atherosclerosis. In J. M. Rippe (Ed.), Encyclopedia of lifestyle medicine & health (Vol. 1, pp. 87-89). SAGE Publications, Inc.

In-text Citation

(Author Last Name, Year, p. #).

(Rippe, 2012, p. 87).

Other Reference Works

Reference 

Last Name, F. M. (Year). Title of entry. In F. M. Last Name (Ed(s).), Title of reference work (edition, page numbers). Publisher.

Bowman, J. P. (2005). Methylococcales. In D. J. Brenner, N. R. Krieg, J. R. Staley, and G. Garrity (Eds.), Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology: Volume 2: The proteobacteria, part B: The gammaproteobacteria (pp. 248-252). Springer.

In-text Citation

(Author Last Name, Year, para. #).

(Bowman, 2005, p. 249)

Book in Translation

Include the publication date for the original work at the end of the reference. In-text citations should include both publication dates.

For translated works, include the initials and last name of the translator, followed by the abbreviation Trans. in parentheses following the book title.

Reference

Original Author Last Name, Initials. (Publication year for the translation). Title of book in italics: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle (Translator initials. Translator Last Name, Trans.). City of publication, state/province or country code: Publisher name. (Original work published Year)

Freud, S. (1967). Group psychology and the analysis of the ego (J. Strachey, Trans.). Liveright Publishing Corporation. (Original work published 1921)

In-text Citation

(Original Author Last Name, Translation Year/Original Publication Year, p. #).

(Freud, 1921/1967, p. 52).

Video: Citing Books

This video shows you how to cite a book using APA style.

chat loading...