Skip to main content

APA Style

Your guide to citing and referencing in APA Style (7th edition)

Online Journal Article with a DOI

A DOI (digital object identifier) is a unique alphanumeric string that provides a persistent link to the article on the internet. DOIs are used by some journals and ebooks. If your article has a DOI, follow the example below.

Reference

Author lastname, Author initials. (Year). Title of article: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Title of Journal in Italics: Capitalize All of the Major Words, Volume number in italics(Issue number), page range. Hyperlinked DOI

Okabe, S., Tauchi, T., & Ohyashiki, K. (2010). Efficacy of MK-0457 and in combination with vorinostat against Philidelphia chromosome positive acute lymphoblastic leukemia cells. Annals of Hematology, 89(11), 1081-1087. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00277-010-0998-x

In-text Citation

(Author lastname, Year, p. #).

(Okabe et al., 2010, p.1085).

Online Journal Article from the Web

If there is no DOI available and the article was accessed online, provide the URL.

Reference

Author lastname, Author initials. (Year). Title of article: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Title of Journal in Italics: Capitalize All of the Major Words, Volume number in italics(Issue number), page range.

Poole, J., Jivraj, T., Arslanian, A., Bellows, K., Chiasson, S., Hakimy, H., Pasini, J., & Reid, J. (2012). Sanism, mental health, and social work/education: A review and call to action. Intersectionalities: A Global Journal of Social Work Analysis, Research, Polity, And Practice, 1, 20-36. https://journals.library.mun.ca/ojs/index.php/IJ/article/view/348

In-text Citation

(Author, Year, p. #).

(Poole et al., 2012, p. 25).

Online Journal Article from a Database, or Print

Reference

Author lastname, Author initials. (Year). Title of article: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Title of Journal in Italics: Capitalize All of the Major Words, Volume number in italics(Issue number), page range.

Decorte, T. (2010). The case for small-scale domestic cannabis cultivation. International Journal of Drug Policy21(4), 271-275.

In-text Citation

(Author lastname, Year, p. #).

(Decorte, 2010, p. 279).

Online Journal Article from Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Reference

Author lastname, Author initials. (Year). Title of article: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Title of Journal in Italics: Capitalize All of the Major Words. Hyperlinked DOI or URL

Miles, L. F., Litton, E., Imberger, G., & Story, D. (2019). Intravenous iron therapy for nonanaemic, irondeficient adults. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD013084.pub2

In-text Citation

(Author lastname, Year, p. #).

 (Miles et al., 2019).

Online Journal Article from ERIC database

Reference

Author lastname, Author initials. (Year). Title of article: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. ERIC. Hyperlinked DOI or URL

Gardner-Neblett, N., Holochwost, S. J., Gallagher, K. C., Iruka, I. U., Odom, S. L., & Pungello, E. P (2016). Guided versus independent play: Which better sustains attention among infants and toddlers? (ED567230). ERIC. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED567230.pdf

In-text Citation

(Author lastname, Year, p. #).

 (Gardner-Neblett et al., 2016, p. 2).

Newspaper or Magazine Article from a Database

Include the volume number, issue number, and page numbers, if provided.

Reference

Author lastname, Author initials. (Year, Month day). Title of article: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Title of Newspaper or Magazine in Italics: Capitalize all Major Words, Volume(Issue), page numbers.

Ozanian, M. K., Badenhausen, K., & Settimi, C. (2018). The most valuable hockey teams. Forbes, 201(10), 24.

In-text Citation

(Author lastname, Year, p. #).

(Ozanian et al., 2018, p. 24).

Magazine Article from a Website

Reference

Author lastname, Author initials. (Year, Month day). Title of article: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Title of Newspaper or Magazine in Italics: Capitalize all Major Words. Hyperlinked URL

Saraiya, S. (2020, July/August). Viola Davis: “My entire life has been a protest”. Vanity Fair. https://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/2020/07/cover-story-viola-davis

In-text Citation

(Author lastname, Year, para. #).

(Saraiya, 2020, para. 12).

Online News Article

Follow this example if your article comes from a news site that has an associated newspaper.

Reference

Author lastname, Author initials. (Year, Month day). Title of article: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Title of Newspaper or Magazine in Italics: Capitalize all Major Words. Hyperlinked URL

Welsh, M. (2018, April 18). Team of Toronto doctors and nurses fill in for personal support staff at nursing homes hit by COVID-19 outbreak. Toronto Star. https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2020/04/18/team-of-toronto-doctors-and-nurses-fill-in-for-personal-support-staff-at-nursing-homes-hit-by-covid-19-outbreak.html

In-text Citation

(Author lastname, Year, para. #).

(Welsh, 2018, para. 2).

Webpage on a News Website

Follow this example for articles published in online news sources.

Reference

Author lastname, Author initials. (Year, Month day). Title of article: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Name of website. Hyperlinked URL

Mark, C. (2020, April 2). Tips on avoiding back pain and injury while working from home. CBC. https://www.cbc.ca/life/wellness/tips-for-avoiding-back-pain-and-injury-while-working-from-home-1.5519774

In-text Citation

(Author lastname, Year, para. #).

(Mark, 2020, para. 2).

Newspaper or Magazine Article in Print

Reference

Author lastname, Author initials. (Year, Month day). Title of article: Capitalize first word in title and subtitle. Title of Newspaper or Magazine in Italics: Capitalize all Major Words, pp. pages.

Becker, J. (2020, August 10). Notes from a virus tracker's log. The New York Times, A8.

In-text Citation

(Author lastname, Year, p. #).

(Becker, 2020, p. A8).

Video: Citing Articles

Check out this video on how to cite journal articles.

What is a DOI?

A DOI (digital object identifier) is a unique alphanumeric string that provides a persistent link to the article on the internet. DOIs are used by some journals and ebooks.

If a DOI is available it will be found with the other publication information on the first page of the article and in the database where you found article.

chat loading...