Skip to main content

Create Stable Links to Library Resources

How to create permalinks to the Library's resources.

General Method

To create direct, one-click links to content in databases, find the permanent link to the content using the database-specific instructions on this page, then add this prefix to the URL:

http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

The prefix allows students to access the content from off-campus.

Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.

Change any dashes/hyphens to periods in the domain name if needed, e.g.  search-proquest-com changes to search.proquest.com

Be sure to test your links to ensure that they work on-campus and off-campus.


  1. Search for a resource, and make note of which database/platform the resource belongs to.

  2. Find fhe database/platform in the list below, and follow the instructions for making a permalink.

Academic Writer (APA Style Central)

  1. Find the film and click on the title to get to the film page.
  2. Click on "Embed Link".  Find the URL in the first or second line.
  3. Delete .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  4. Replace the hyphens/dashes in the domain name with periods, e.g academicwriter-apa-org changes to academicwriter.apa.org
  5. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the film, "How to Find Reliable Sources",
the stable URL is: https://academicwriter.apa.org/learndisplay/TUT-10
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://academicwriter.apa.org/learndisplay/TUT-10

ACF (Audio Cine Films)

  1. Find the film and click on the image to get to the film page.
  2. Copy the link in the browser bar.  Delete .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  3. Replace the hyphens/dashes in the domain name with periods, e.g streaming-acf-film-com changes to streaming.acf-film.com. NOTE that the domain name includes a hyphen/dash!
  4. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the film, "Bao",
the stable URL is: https://streaming.acf-film.com/audiocine#/play/91E0784502CCF5B7
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://streaming.acf-film.com/audiocine#/play/91E0784502CCF5B7

Alexander Street Press

  1. Find the film and click on the video.
  2. At the top menu, click on "Share".
  3. Click "Copy Permalink" and "Copy".  Paste the URL into your document. 

CBC Curio

  1. Find the film and click on the image to get to the video.
  2. Click "Share".  Copy the stable URL ("Permalink").

Example:
For the film, "Book of Negroes, episode 1",
The link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=http://curio.ca/en/book-negroes-episode-1/s/5191/1_9pqrmmfx/

Criterion on Demand

  1. Find the film and click on the image to get to the film page.
  2. Copy the link in the browser bar.  Delete .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  3. Replace the dashes/hyphens in the domain name with periods, e.g. media3-criterionpic-com changes to media3.criterionpic.com
  4. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the film, "Indian Horse",
the stable URL is: https://media3.criterionpic.com./htbin/wwform/006?T=110015E
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://media3.criterionpic.com./htbin/wwform/006?T=110015E

Ed.Flicks Exchange Training Video on Demand

  1. Find the film and click on the title to get to the film page.
  2. Copy the link in the browser bar.  Delete .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  3. Replace the hyphens/dashes in the domain name with periods, e.g www-childcareexchange-com changes to www.childcareexchange.com
  4. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the film, "Temperament",
the stable URL is: https://www.childcareexchange.com/catalog/product/temperament/7710013/
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://www.childcareexchange.com/catalog/product/temperament/7710013/

 

Films on Demand

  1. Find the video title and go to the video page.
  2. Click on "Share" and then the "Embed/Link" tab.  Copy the "Record URL".  
  3. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the film, "See Me" 
The stable URL is: https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=114435&xtid=54712
The link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=114435&xtid=54712

 

JoVE Science Education

  1. Find the video title and click on the image to go to the film description page.
  2. Click the "Embed" button.
  3. In the text code, copy the URL that appears after the string src=".  
  4. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the film, "Lymph Node Exam" 
The stable URL is: https://www.jove.com/embed/player?id=10061&t=1&s=1&fpv=1
The link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://www.jove.com/embed/player?id=10061&t=1&s=1&fpv=1

Kanopy Videos

  1. Find the film and click on the image to get to the video.
  2. Click "Share" and copy the URL ("Share link").
  3. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the film, "Mickey Mouse Monopoly",
the stable URL is: https://centennialcollege.kanopy.com/video/mickey-mouse-monopoly-0
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://centennialcollege.kanopy.com/video/mickey-mouse-monopoly-0

LinkedIN Learning (formerly Lynda.com)

  1. Find the video and click on the video.
  2. At the top right, click on the curved arrow, and choose "Link".
  3. A pop-up window appears with the permanent link that you can paste on your web page.
  4. Note that when users login, they will need to enter their my.centennialcollege.ca email address.

Mediasite

  1. Login to Mediasite with your college network login credentials.
  2. Find the video and click on the image.
  3. Click on the "Embed" link and copy the desired URL.

Example:
For the film, "GNED500 Video Research Guide Part 1"
the "Link to Full Player" on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: https://mediasite.centennialcollege.ca/Mediasite/Play/09a0f27c5fca4cf5a68773ffc822972a1d?autostart=true&player=399f0295183a47d3afa28ff278075ff00a&playfrom=0&covertitle=false

NFB CAMPUS

  1. Find the film and click on the image to get to the video.
  2. The URL in the browser bar is the stable link.  Copy the URL.
  3. Delete .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  4. In the domain name, replace the hyphens/dashes with periods, e.g www-nfb-ca, changes to www.nfb.ca
  5. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the film, "Aboriginality",
the stable URL is: https://www.nfb.ca/film/aboriginality
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://www.nfb.ca/film/aboriginality

Nursing Videos

Nursing videos, which used to be delivered from the Video on Demand platform, are now available through the Kanopy Streaming service.

You can use the permalinks listed below for course pages and eCentennial. These permalinks will work both on-campus and off-campus.  Please ensure that you remove the spaces in the URL when copying and pasting. 

Jarvis Physical Examination and Health Assessment
Permalink: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=http://centennialcollege.kanopystreaming.com/video/jarvis-physical-examination-health-assessmen

Mosby's Nursing Skills - 1 - Basic Collection
Permalink: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=http://centennialcollege.kanopystreaming.com/video/mosbys-nursing-skills-basic-collection

Mosby's Nursing Skills - 2 - Intermediate Collection
Permalink: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=http://centennialcollege.kanopystreaming.com/video/mosbys-nursing-skills-intermediate-collectio

Mosby's Nursing Skills - 3 - Advanced Collection
Permalink: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=http://centennialcollege.kanopystreaming.com/video/mosbys-nursing-skills-advanced-collection

 

Roco Films

  1. Find the video title and click on the image to go to the film description page.
  2. Copy the URL in the browser URL bar.  
  3. Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  4. Replace the hyphens/dashes in the domain name with periods, e.g. www-filmplatform-net changes to www.filmplatform.net
  5. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the film, "The Islands and the Whales" 
The stable URL is: https://www.filmplatform.net/product/the-islands-and-the-whales/
The link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://www.filmplatform.net/product/the-islands-and-the-whales/

Videatives

  1. Find the film and click on the image to get to the film page.
  2. Copy the link in the browser bar.  Delete .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  3. Replace the hyphens/dashes in the domain name with periods, e.g streaming-videatives-com changes to streaming.videatives.com
  4. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the film, "Face Painting",
the stable URL is: https://streaming.videatives.com/assets/179
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://streaming.videatives.com/assets/179

chat loading...