Skip to main content

Create Stable Links to Library Resources

How to create permalinks to the Library's resources.

General Method

To create direct, one-click links to content in databases, find the permanent link to the content using the database-specific instructions on this page, then add this prefix to the URL:

http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

The prefix allows students to access the content from off-campus.

Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.

Change any dashes/hyphens to periods in the domain name if needed, e.g.  search-proquest-com changes to search.proquest.com

Be sure to test your links to ensure that they work on-campus and off-campus.


  1. Search for a resource, and make note of which database/platform the resource belongs to.

  2. Find fhe database/platform in the list below, and follow the instructions for making a permalink.

Items with a doi.org URL

  1. If the item has a doi.org domain URL, add this prefix to the URL:  http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=
  2. Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca if present.
  3. Replace the dashes in the domain name with periods, e.g. dx-doi-org becomes dx.doi.org, and doi-org becomes doi.org

Example:
For this item, "Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition"
the URL is: https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596
the stable URL is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596

Cambridge University Press (Cambridge Core)

  1. Find the item.
  2. In the item record, look for the DOI.  It is a URL that contains doi.org
  3. Follow the instructions here, "Items with a doi.org URL".

EBSCOhost Databases

  1. Find the article-level or journal-level link by following these instructions.
  2. Copy and paste the URL onto your web page.

Example:
For the item, "When It Comes To Community Colleges, Canada Is All Over the Place",
the stable URL for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=3126094&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Encyclopedia Britannica

  1. Find the article and click on its title.
  2. Click on the checkmark icon ("Cite") and copy the URL that appears in the pop-up window.  
  3. Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.  
  4. Replace the dashes/hyphens in the domain name to period marks, e.g. academic-eb-com changes to academic.eb.com.
  5. If your students will be accessing the item from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the item, "Scarborough",
the stable URL is: https://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/Scarborough/66041
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=http://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/66041

Gale Databases

  1. Find the article and click on its title.
  2. At the bottom of the screen, find the "Source Citation" box with the URL, or click on "Get Link" at the top of the page.  Copy and paste the URL.
  3. If your students will be accessing the item from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the item, "Centennial College alumni host VIP concert with the Spoons in support of new scholarship fund",
the stable URL is: https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A270480472/AONE?u=ko_acd_cec&sid=AONE&xid=96212905
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A270480472/AONE?u=ko_acd_cec&sid=AONE&xid=96212905

IEEE Xplore

  1. Find the article and click on its title.
  2. Right-click on the article's PDF link, and select "Copy shortcut" (or click on the PDF link, then copy the URL from your browser's address bar).
  3. Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  4. Replace the dashes/hypens in the domain name with periods, e.g. change ieeexplore-ieee-org to ieeexlplore.ieee.org
  5. If your students will be accessing the item from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the item, "Application of Satellite Sensor Data and Models for Energy Management",
the stable URL is: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stamp/stamp.jsp?tp=&arnumber=4636713
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stamp/stamp.jsp?tp=&arnumber=4636713

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe (Nexis Uni)

  1. Find the item and click on its title.
  2. Click on "Export Citation".  Copy the URL.  If the "Export Citation" option does not appear, direct linking has been disabled by the publisher.
  3. Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.  Replace the hyphens in the domain name with periods, e.g. advance-lexis-com becomes advance.lexis.com
  4. If your students will be accessing the item from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL:  http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For this article, "Canada's Centennial College opens representative office in the Philippines"
the stable URL is: https://advance.lexis.com/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XFR-FBY1-DYRK-D125-00000-00&context=1516831
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is:
http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://advance.lexis.com/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5XFR-FBY1-DYRK-D125-00000-00&context=1516831

O'Reilly Safari Tech Books

  1. Find the book and click on the title to get the full record.
  2. Copy URL in the browser bar.
  3. In the URL, replace the word learning with go
  4. Between the strings https://go.oreilly.com/ and library/, add centennial-college/.

Example:
For this ebook, "Microservice Architecture"
the link in the broswer bar is https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/microservice-architecture/9781491956328/ 
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: https://go.oreilly.com/centennial-college/library/view/microservice-architecture/9781491956328/

For the chapter called, "The Microservices Way" in the ebook, "Microservice Architecture"
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: https://go.oreilly.com/centennial-college/library/view/microservice-architecture/9781491956328/ch01.html#chap01

 

Ovid Databases

  1. Find the item and click on its title.
  2. On the right side, click on "Email Jumpstart".  A pop-up window will appear with the permalink.  Copy the URL.
  3. Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present. 
  4. If your students will be accessing the article from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For this article, "Tips for Mentoring Advanced Practice Nursing Students"
the stable URL is: http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&AN=01256961-201410000-00004&LSLINK=80&D=ovft
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&AN=01256961-201410000-00004&LSLINK=80&D=ovft

Oxford Scholarship Online

  1. Find the item and click on the title to get the full record.
  2. In the item record, look for the DOI.  It is a URL that contains doi.org
  3. Follow the instructions here, "Items with a doi.org URL".

ProQuest Databases

  1. Find the item and click on its title.
  2. Click on "Cite" at upper right. Copy the URL.
  3. Delete the section ezcentennial.ocls.ca and ?url= from the middle of the link, if present.
  4. Replace the dashes/hypens in the domain name with periods, e.g. change search-proquest-com to search.proquest.com
  5. If your students will be accessing the article from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For this article, "Centennial College Library and Academic Facility"
the stable URL is: http://search.proquest.com/docview/1010056419?accountid=39331
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1010056419?accountid=39331

ProQuest Ebooks

  • Find the item and click on its title.
  • On the left, click, "Share Link to Book". Copy the URL.
  • Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca and ?url= from the middle of the link, if present.
  • If there are hyphens in the domain name of the URL, replace them with periods.  For example, ebookcentral-proquest-com should be changed to ebookcentral.proquest.com.
  • If your students will be accessing the article from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For this ebook, "Career Paths of Nursing Professionals"
the stable URL is: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/centennial-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3331312
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/centennial-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3331312

 

SAE Mobilus

  1. Find the item and click on the title to get the full record.
  2. At the top, click on "Share".  Copy the URL. 
  3. Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.  
  4. Replace the dashes in the domain name with periods, e.g. saemobilus-sae-org becomes saemobilus.sae.org
  5. If your students will be accessing the article from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For this article, "User's Guide to AMS Specifications"
the stable URL is: https://saemobilus.sae.org/content/AIR4779C/
the URL for off-campus access is http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://saemobilus.sae.org/content/AIR4779C/

SAGE Knowledge

  1. Find the item.
  2. In the item record, look for the DOI.  It is a URL that contains doi.org
  3. Follow the instructions here, "Items with a doi.org URL".

ScienceDirect

  1. Find the article and click on the title to get the full record.
  2. Copy the URL in the browser bar.
  3. Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  4. Replace the dashes in the domain name with periods, e.g. www-sciencedirect-com becomes www.sciencedirect.com
  5. If your students will be accessing the article from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For this article, "Effectiveness of patient simulation manikins in teaching clinical reasoning skills to undergraduate nursing students: A systematic review."
the stable URL is: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1876139910001325
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1876139910001325

Springer Nature

  1. Find the ebook and click on the title to get the full record.
  2. The URL in the browser bar is the stable link. 
  3. Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  4. Replace the dashes in the domain name with periods, e.g. link-springer-com becomes link.springer.com
  5. If your students will be accessing the article from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For this ebook, "Image-Based Biomechanical Modelling of Heart Failure"
the stable URL is: https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-319-75589-2_10
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-319-75589-2_10

Springer Publishing

  1. Find the journal or article.
  2. Click on "Share" and "Copy link".  Copy the link.
  3. Delete the section .ezcentennial.ocls.ca from the middle of the link, if present.
  4. Replace the dashes in the domain name with periods, e.g. connect-springerpub-com becomes connect.springerpub.com
  5. If your students will be accessing the article from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=

Example:
For the journal, "Annual Review of Gerontology and Geriatrics"
the stable URL is: https://connect.springerpub.com/content/sgrargg/39/1
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is: http://ra.ocls.ca/ra/login.aspx?inst=centennial&url=https://connect.springerpub.com/content/sgrargg/39/1

Wiley Online Library

  1. Find the article.
  2. In the item record, look for the DOI.  It is a URL that contains doi.org
  3. Follow the instructions here, "Items with a doi.org URL".
chat loading...