chat loading...
Skip to main content

Create Stable Links to Library Resources

How to create permalinks to the Library's resources.


You may want to add links to articles, books, videos, and other Library content to a web page or your course pages.  

There are two ways to create permalinks:

  • the easy way (physical & digital items) - creating links is effortless, but the resulting link requires the user to click up to 3 times in order to see the resource,
  • the slightly more difficult way (digital items only) - more time-consuming, but will result in a link that is direct and requires only 1 click to see the resource.


Instructions for the easy method are below.  For the second method, please choose a resource (eJournals & eBooks or eVideos), and then find the database/platform that includes your resource.

The Easy Method for All Resources (Physical & Digital)

A simple way to make links to any article, video, digital or print book is to use Search Everything, which includes most of the Library's resources including all physical materials, and all e-journal and e-book databases.

In the "Search Everything" hit results, choose the desired item and click on "Preview", then "Permanent Link".  Copy and paste the URL to your web page.  This URL works both on-campus and off-campus.  If you are placing this link on an eCentennial page, change "http" to "https".

Example 1 - physical item

This is the permalink for the physical book,"GNED 500 global citizenship: from social analysis to social action".

Example 2 - digital item

This is the permalink for the digital item, "Fostering Global Citizenship Through Faculty-led International Programs".

Search for resources now


Resources Not Indexed in "Search Everything"

There are a number of specialty databases that are not indexed in Search Everything.  These databases generally do not contain ejournals or ebooks, but instead, are directories, data sets, interactive software, etc.  A full list is here.

For these resources, it is best to link directly to the full database.

  1. Find the database on this page and right-click to copy the link.
  2. If your students will be accessing the link from off-campus, add this prefix to your URL:

For the database, Quicklaw
the stable URL is:
the link on your web page for on- and off-campus access is:

Help Us Improve

Need Help?

chat loading...