Skip to Main Content

Research in the Health Sciences - Faculty Guide

This guide provides an overview of Library and other resources useful for conducting original research in the health sciences for faculty and staff at Centennial College.

Databases

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from the Medline database, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to free full-text content from PubMed Central (a free archive of biomedical literature) and publisher web sites. It is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health and the National Center for Biotechnology Information. Areas of coverage include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care delivery and preclinical sciences. 

Pubmed and Medline What is the difference?

Medline is a citation database that indexes health and biomedical journals.  The Medline database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, is included in PubMed. Pubmed also includes citations from newly published or in-process articles that are not yet available in Medline.  The content found in both is similar.  How each database is searched is the major difference between the two. 

What to use and when

Off Campus Access

To access the  Library databases off-campus, you will be asked to login using your myCentennial ID and password

Dissertations

As well as the Nursing and Allied Health Source database, you may be able to find full text dissertations online as many universities are providing open access to these resources. Check out the university's website or try searching Google Scholar with the title (in quotation marks) and author of the thesis. You can also use the links below to look for dissertations in Canadian educational institutions:

Search Google Scholar

Use the Google Scholar search box below to discover what's available at Centennial College Libraries.  Click on the "Find it at Centennial" link to access the resource in Centennial Library databases.

Google Scholar Search
chat loading...