Usability encompasses multiple components that change over time as technology develops. However, it is generally agreed that there are five usability attributes:
In addition, three principles ensure usability:
Encyclopedia of New Media by
From Amazon.com to virtual communities, the Encyclopedia of New Media presents more than 250 entries that place new communication technology, multimedia, entertainment and e-commerce within their social context. Each subject is examined in depth in a single, coherent article and the Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive, A-Z reference on the ongoing revolution in communications. The Encyclopedia is edited by Steve Jones, one of the most renowned scholars of new media studies, and editor of two SAGE texts in this area Cybersociety 2.0 (1998) and Doing Internet Research (1999). The 275 entries are balanced between information technology and the social landscape, include entries on both themes and theorists, and the volume includes 25 photographs. Unlike many encyclopedias that provide short, fragmented entries, the Encyclopedia of New Media examines each subject in depth in a single, coherent article. Many articles span several pages and are presented in a large, double-column format for easy reading. The Encyclopedia of New Media includes a comprehensive index as well as a reader′s guide that facilitates browsing and easy access to information. Each entry includes a bibliography and suggestions for further reading, together with links to related topics in the Encyclopedia, making this an indispensable resource for students and academics in media and cultural studies and a must for both public and university libraries.
UX for the Web by
This is an easy-to-understand step-by-step guide with full of examples to that will help you in creating good UX for your web applications.
Fixing Bad UX Designs by
Have your web applications been experiencing more hits and less conversions? Are bad designs consuming your time and money?
This book is the answer to these problems. With intuitive case studies, you'll learn to simplify, fix, and enhance some common, real-world application designs. You'll look at the common issues of simplicity, navigation, appearance, maintenance, and many more.
The challenge that most UX designers face is to ensure that the UX is user-friendly. In this book, we address this with individual case studies starting with some common UX applications and then move on to complex applications. Each case study will help you understand the issues faced by a bad UX and teach you to break it down and fix these problems.
As we progress, you'll learn about the information architecture, usability testing, iteration, UX refactoring, and many other related features with the help of various case studies. You'll also learn some interesting UX design tools with the projects covered in the book.
By the end of the book, you'll be armed with the knowledge to fix bad UX designs and to ensure great customer satisfaction for your applications.
Web Style Guide by
A classic reference book on user interface design and graphic design for web sites, updated to reflect a rapidly changing market Consistently praised as the best volume on classic elements of web site design, Web Style Guide has sold many thousands of copies and has been published around the world. This new revised edition confirms Web Style Guide as the go-to authority in a rapidly changing market. As web designers move from building sites from scratch to using content management and aggregation tools, the book's focus shifts away from code samples and toward best practices, especially those involving mobile experience, social media, and accessibility. An ideal reference for web site designers in corporations, government, nonprofit organizations, and academic institutions, the book explains established design principles and covers all aspects of web design--from planning to production to maintenance. The guide also shows how these principles apply in web design projects whose primary concerns are information design, interface design, and efficient search and navigation.
User Experience Mapping: get closer to your users and create better products for them by