Skip to Main Content

New Media Studies

Resources to support New Media Studies students.

Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act

The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) is designed to improve accessibility standards in all public spaces by 2025. It is made up of 5 standards:

  1. Customer Service Standard
  2. Information and Communication Standard
  3. Employment Standard
  4. Transportation Standard
  5. Design of Public Spaces Standard

Each standard is a law that individuals, government, businesses, nonprofits, and public sector organizations must follow in order to become more accessible. The accessibility standards contain timelines for the implementation of required measures and help organizations identify, remove, and prevent barriers in order to improve accessibility for people with disabilities. 

Via Accessibility Ontario 

The Design of Public Spaces Standards are designed to make built environments accessible to all Ontarians. It includes

  • Recreational trails 
  • Beach access routes
  • Outdoor public use eating areas
  • Outdoor play spaces 
  • Exterior paths of travel
  • Parking
  • Service counters and waiting areas 

For more information, visit the Integrated Accessibility Standards 



chat loading...