Library Guides: Bookkeeping: Start Here

Everything you didn't know about bookkeeping! (Coming soon!)

It's all here! (note: virtual shelves are a little farther down)

Bookkeepers' boot camp : get a grip on accounting basics by Angie Mohr
Call Number: HF5635 .M74
ISBN: 9781770402522
Publication Date: 2015
“You can't know how your business is doing until you record it.” Bookkeepers’ Boot Camp shows small business owners the essentials of record keeping, and why it's crucial to a business’s success to track financial data. The book gives business owners a greater understanding of the purpose and process of record keeping
and a deeper understanding of their businesses. - Publisher
Mastering bookkeeping : a complete guide to the principles and practice of business accounting by Peter Marshall
Call Number: HF5636 .M375
ISBN: 9781472137036
Publication Date: 2017
"This latest edition includes significant enhancements to reflect the teachings of the principle bookkeeping institutes as they endeavour to raise the professional competence of their members. For example, accounting staff are increasingly being required to extend their record keeping into management accounts areas. The new edition includes chapters on stock control and budgetary control accounting. In addition, it will include more detailed guidance on the significance and importance of ratio analysis and statements of sources and the application of funds." - Publisher
Spreadsheet modeling and decision analysis: a practical introduction to business analytics by Ragsdale, Cliff T.
Call Number: T57.62 .R34
ISBN: 9781305947412
Publication Date: 2018
"Valuable software, realistic examples, clear writing, and fascinating topics help you master key spreadsheet and business analytics skills with Spreadsheet modeling and decision analysis." - Publisher

How do I use this library thing?

If you like watching stuff, than you are in luck, because I have created a fabulous audio and visual experience just for you! While it may not have the same look and feel as the movie theatre experience, you will definitely get your money's worth, and you may learn something along the way. (Honk if you learned something today!)

Get on the fast track to earning your Library Smarts Micro-Credential! (not a real credential)

Library Collection Intro in Detail

"Must-sees" for the Advanced Library Smarts Micro-Credential!

Market Area Facts... at the tips of your fingers

Gather political, economic, social, environmental data and intelligence on the world's market stages using the online library collections.

Company Information Sources

Take a virtual tour of the library's company information sources.

Industry Information Sources

You guessed it! A title that needs no introduction...

Stepping in it... the library's collections that is!

If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.

ProTip: Everything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca

You can activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.

If you think of the Internet as a pile of stuff, the library, on the other hand, is a collection. We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success. The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the name of the information resource(s) you need.

There are several points of entry into the collections: Keywords box (Search for Databases), A-Z list, and the School List filter (All Subjects).

ProTip: The Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, an information resource. It is not designed to search within the collection. Even if you are unsure of the complete database name, try representative keywords, such as "Business." You probably won't be disappointed!

Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!

Not sure what's inside a collection (database)? Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:

Business Source Complete

Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research...

Working off-campus, you may be asked to login. Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.

Next box...

It's virtually all here too!

Five Key Applications of Accounting Information Systems by Shapiro, David
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781949991581
Publication Date: 2019
"The revolutionary effects of using accounting information systems by displacing manual information systems in the private and public sectors cannot be overstated. The benefits of this substitution of set of processes include increased mathematical accuracy, predefined fields and coding tasks, and de-emphasis of manual clerical labor in favor of labor adept in data processing. Reporting can be significantly automated, facilitating managerial power and control at a distance and the proliferation of global enterprises. The potential detriments are rarely accurately, completely, and timely addressed as information system vendors, management consultants, and corporate procurement teams race toward the popularly conceived state of the art. Systems are ballyhooed as continually improving in processing speed, functionality, and capacity. Users of these automated systems may not consider big picture effects, and they may not intelligently consider the conduct risks to their own enterprises by concentrating such global reach and influence at high levels of senior management without dedicating adequate resources to verifying the accuracy, completeness, and timeliness of the information systems. This book considers these risks." - Publisher

Grab some popcorn!

Squeezing the client!

Value pricing for accounting professionals : a complete guide for accountants and bookkeepers to find the right clients and increase profitability by Wickersham, Mark
Call Number: HF5605 .W53
ISBN: 9781398605374
Publication Date: 2022
"The concept of value pricing is simple to understand but many accountants struggle with the price conversation and lack the confidence to charge higher prices. Value Pricing for Accounting Professionals is a practical guide to building a clear pricing strategy, feeling more confident and increasing earnings. It covers the critical steps to pricing a new client and how to re-price existing clients without losing them by quantifying value" - Publisher

It's the handbook everyone is talking about!

CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (copy and paste me into the link provided, you can do it!)

Get it HERE!

or... just click on the graphic and login with your myCentennial credentials!

Count on getting that article!

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

ABI/INFORM Collection

CBCA Complete

Sage Premier

Business Insights Global

LexisNexis Academic

Academic Search Premier

Research Library

Journal Searching made extra-easy!

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report! With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: J ournal Search. This tool directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) they resides in!

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: Accounting and Business Research... shows up in few places, including here !

You may want to practice with a few of these titles!

Bookkeeping

Accounting and Business research

Corporate Treasurer

Following the paper trail!

Accounting information systems by Marshall B. Romney
Call Number: HF5679 .R6296
ISBN: 9780134474021
Publication Date: 2018
"Accounting Information Systems, covers all of the most recent updates in AIS, including how developments in IT affect business processes and controls, the effect of recent regulatory developments on the design and operation of accounting systems, and how accountants can use the AIS to add value to an organization. Not only will readers see how AIS has changed the role of an accountant, but they’ll also be prepared for a successful accounting career in public practice, industry, or government." - Publisher
Payroll management by Bragg, Steven M.
Call Number: HG4028 .P5 B63
ISBN: 9781642210026
Publication Date: 2018
"This book shows the accountant how to improve the functions of the payroll department, enhancing efficiency and reducing error rates. Topics covered include time tracking, payroll processing, procedures, controls, and recordkeeping. The book also addresses the United States payroll regulations and reporting requirements related to compensation, benefits, payroll taxes, and tax remittances. It is updated annually for the latest payroll regulations. Payroll Management is ideal for anyone new to payroll, or who wants to enhance an existing system." - Publisher
Using accounting & financial information : analyzing, forecasting, & decision making by Mark S. Bettner
Call Number: HF5636 .B48
ISBN: 9781606496404
Publication Date: 2018
"The primary purpose of this book is to help managers from diverse professional and educational backgrounds to: (1) converse more effectively with their accounting and finance colleagues; (2) understand the structure and the elements of general-purpose financial statements, (3) identify both the usefulness and the limitations of accounting information; (4) prepare basic financial forecasts; and (5) make sense of commonly used decision-making models." - Publisher

There's a manual for that, even the missing one!

Efficient accounting with xero : the definitive guide to optimizing your accounting with proven techniques and best practices by Kimelman, Jay,
Call Number: E-Book!
ISBN: 1801812209
Publication Date: 2023
"Maximize the capabilities of Xero to achieve timely and stress-free accounting for your business." - Publisher
Mastering QuickBooks 2023 by Shelton, Crystalynn
Call Number: HF5679 .S43
ISBN: 9781803243634
Publication Date: 2022
"Confidently handle bookkeeping for your business with QuickBooks, learn how to use advanced QBO features, gain techniques for managing sales taxes and budgeting, and discover the best practices for reporting in this fourth, fully updated edition." - Publisher
Teach yourself visually Microsoft 365 by McFedries, Paul
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781119893103
Publication Date: 2022
"A fast-paced, useful, and easy introduction to Microsoft 365 For those who need the show as well as the tell, Teach Yourself VISUALLY Microsoft 365 is the visual walkthrough to Microsoft's latest suite of office products that will get you up-to-speed faster than any other resource on the market." - Publisher
Using Excel & Access 2016 for accounting by Glenn Owen
Call Number: HF5679 .O942
ISBN: 9781337109048
Publication Date: 2017
"This book's step-by-step approach incorporates plenty of screenshots to clearly demonstrate how to use these tools most effectively to solve real accounting problems." - Publisher
Using Sage 50 accounting 2015 Canadian Edition by Mary Purbhoo
Call Number: HF5679 .P886
ISBN: 9780134097909
Publication Date: 2016
"Get to know both Sage 50 Premium Accounting 2015 and Sage 50 Pro Accounting 2015!" - Publisher

Get in the loop!

Canadian Bookkeepers Association
Our Mission is to Encourage Excellence, assist with Promotion and provide Support for Canadian Professional Bookkeepers.
Certified Professional Bookkeepers of Canada
Certified Professional Bookkeepers of Canada (CPB Canada), legally known as the Institute of Professional Bookkeepers of Canada (IPBC), is a member-based association, a national certifying body, and the leading professional and career development organization for bookkeepers in Canada. Created for bookkeepers, by bookkeepers, we are the largest and fastest-growing bookkeeping association in Canada.

Career Info!

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!