If you like watching stuff, than you are in luck, because I have created a fabulous audio and visual experience just for you! While it may not have the same look and feel as the movie theatre experience, you will definitely get your money's worth, and you may learn something along the way. (Honk if you learned something today!)
Get on the fast track to earning your Library Smarts Micro-Credential! (not a real credential)
Library Collection Intro in Detail
"Must-sees" for the Advanced Library Smarts Micro-Credential!
Market Area Facts... at the tips of your fingers
Gather political, economic, social, environmental data and intelligence on the world's market stages using the online library collections.
Take a virtual tour of the library's company information sources.
You guessed it! A title that needs no introduction...
If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.
ProTip: Everything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca
You can activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.
If you think of the Internet as a pile of stuff, the library, on the other hand, is a collection. We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success. The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the name of the information resource(s) you need.
There are several points of entry into the collections: Keywords box (Search for Databases), A-Z list, and the School List filter (All Subjects).
ProTip: The Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, an information resource. It is not designed to search within the collection. Even if you are unsure of the complete database name, try representative keywords, such as "Business." You probably won't be disappointed!
Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!
Not sure what's inside a collection (database)? Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:
Business Source Complete
Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research...
Working off-campus, you may be asked to login. Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.
CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (copy and paste me into the link provided, you can do it!)
Get it HERE!
or... just click on the graphic and login with your myCentennial credentials!
Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.
(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)
You can explore the magic of these selected collections:
Business Source Complete
Business Insights Global
Academic Search Premier
From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report! With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?
The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: Journal Search. This tool directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) they resides in!
Try it, and see for yourself.
Example: Accounting and Business Research... shows up in few places, including here!
You may want to practice with a few of these titles!
Accounting and Business research
►career exploration resources
►resume and cover letter advice
►career search guidance...
Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)
And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!