Videos & Images - Nursing - Collaborative and Bridging Programs

Online Video

Kanopy Videos This link opens in a new window
Access to online educational videos licensed by Centennial Libraries. Includes many nursing and health sciences films
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
This database is an up-to-date collection of training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. This resource provides access to Medcom's complete collection of 350+ full-length training videos.
JoVE Core Nursing This link opens in a new window
Provides animated lessons on nursing practices to help students learn the field. The collection introduces health and healthcare systems, regional and global nursing organizations, as well as theories and concepts of health and illness . Practical communication, infection prevention, and nursing basics are also covered. The interactive Core Nursing content helps students understand key nursing principles. Note: Contains U.S. content.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video This link opens in a new window
This resource features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other.
Films on Demand: Allied Health Canada This link opens in a new window
The Allied Health Collection is designed to help prepare future allied health professionals for practice across a diverse range of health care settings. The videos include titles from trusted producers such as Elsevier, NEVCO, Center for Phlebotomy Education, InJoy Health Education, Educational Media Distributors, and others.

JoVE Nursing Skills Videos
This collection demonstrates medication preparation and administration, with videos highlighting important safety checks, considerations, dosage calculations, and common mistakes associated with improper medication administration.

Safetyhub This link opens in a new window
Safety training video streaming with assessments and trainee learning management system.
JoVE Core Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new window
JoVE Core Anatomy and Physiology showcases the anatomical and physiological details of the human body in comprehensive, clear, and engaging video animations. This collection of lessons focuses on the structures, components, functions, and requirements of the human body. It is complemented by scientist-in-action videos that demonstrate the application of this knowledge in real-world medical and research settings.

Video: JoVE

This video details the process of changing a dressing from a CVAD using sterile technique.

Additional videos in the JoVE Nursing Skills series are available.

Recommended Viewing

Mosby's Nursing Skills 1: Basic Collection This link opens in a new window
Learn how to correctly perform basic nursing procedures with these videos. Clear, step-by-step demonstrations of key nursing procedures.
Mosby's Nursing Skills 2: Intermediate Collection This link opens in a new window
Learn how to correctly perform intermediate nursing procedures with these videos. Clear, step-by-step demonstrations of key nursing procedures.
Mosby's Nursing Skills 3: Advanced Collection This link opens in a new window
Learn how to correctly perform advanced nursing procedures with these videos. Clear, step-by-step demonstrations of key nursing procedures.
Jarvis Physical Examination & Health Assessment This link opens in a new window
More than five hours of video presented by body system and demonstrate physical exams across the lifespan.

Nursing Process and Critical Thinking Series (Films on Demand)
Includes the films "The Nursing Process" and "Critical Thinking in the Nursing Process."
Interprofessional Education Collection
In order for health care providers to practice in an interprofessional manner, they need to know"how" to collaborate. The Centre for Interprofessional Education (IPE) at the University of Toronto presents these films that are aimed to educate health care providers about interprofessional care.

Free Online Images

When including images in your assignment please make sure you use "free" images -- images for which the copyright owner has given you permission to use the picture.

The images on the websites below are all free to use (unless otherwise stated). Please check the license terms of any image you use.

Remember to cite your images as well!

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million copyright-cleared images including photographs, graphics, and icons.
Students can use these professionally-produced images for projects, course work, web pages, and college publications. Instructors can quickly find images for course development, faculty research, lesson plans, and classroom activities.

Creative Commons
Search for content licensed for re-use. Check the terms on individual items for attribution requirements.
Flickr Commons - Advanced Search
Limit your search to Creative Commons images or be sure to check the license terms on individual images.
FoodiesFeed
Pictures of food!
Google Advanced Image Search
Use Usage rights filter "Creative Commons Licenses." Check for license terms or other notices regarding use.
more...less...
Seek help from the Library Copyright Team if in doubt.
ISO Republic
High resolution stock photos.
Nappy
Photos of Black and Brown people.
Pixaby
Includes many free images to use (but not all images are free, so please read the license terms for the photos you want to use).
Pexels: Free Stock Photos
Unsplash
Includes a variety of free images.
Wikimedia Commons
Public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips)