Disability Studies

This Encyclopedia attempts to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. It provides a fascinating entry into the world of disability where minds are expanded, prejudices shattered, and spirits raised. The Encyclopedia answers the question: What is disability and why is it important in my life?

The Palgrave Handbook of Disability and Communication covers a broad spectrum of topics related to how we perceive and understand disability and the language, constructs, constraints and communication behavior that shape disability discourse within society. The essays and original research presented in this volume address important matters of disability identity and intersectionality, broader cultural narratives and representation, institutional constructs and constraints, and points related to disability justice, advocacy, and public policy.

The Fourth Edition of the Disability Studies Reader breaks new ground by emphasizing the global, transgender, homonational, and posthuman conceptions of disability. Including physical disabilities, but exploring issues around pain, mental disability, and invisible disabilities, this edition explores more varieties of bodily and mental experience. New histories of the legal, social, and cultural give a broader picture of disability than ever before.

The book traces the history of western cultural responses to disability, from ancient times to the present. The sweep is broad; from a rereading and reinterpretation of the Oedipus myth to current legislation regarding disability, he proposes an analytical history that demonstrates how societies reveal themselves through their attitudes towards disability, at times in unexpected ways, since the study of detail is often the best entry into the whole of a culture.

The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities (2nd ed.) is a comprehensive guide to all types of learning disabilities, including how they function, how they can be diagnosed, and how they can be treated. Today, learning disabilities are becoming more and more common. With more than 650 entries, 25 of which are new, this thoroughly revised and updated volume explains all the relevant topics from special legislation to educational tools to child development.

This handbook presents a concise and clear overview of special education services in more than 70 countries across the world using the Article on Education in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with disabilities as the analytical frame.

This authoritative handbook reviews the breadth of current knowledge about developmental disabilities: neuroscientific and genetic foundations; the impact on health, learning, and behavior; and effective educational and clinical practices. Leading authorities analyze what works in intervening with diverse children and families, from infancy through the school years and the transition to adulthood.

The Joy of Signing is one of the most comprehensive guides available for mastering the current basic signs used to communicate with deaf people in either the word order of the English language or in the American Sign Language pattern.