Television Production by
Gain the skills you need to succeed in the television industry and master the production process, from shooting and producing, to editing and distribution.
The Business of Television by
In this book, esteemed television executive and Harvard lecturer Ken Basin offers a comprehensive overview of the business, financial, and legal structure of the U.S. television industry, as well as its dealmaking norms. Written for working or aspiring creative professionals who want to better understand the entertainment industry -- as well as for executives, agents, managers, and lawyers looking for a reference guide -- The Business of Television presents a readable, in-depth introduction to rights and talent negotiations, intellectual property, backend deals, licensing, streaming platforms, international production, and much more. The book also includes breakdowns after each chapter summarizing deal points and points of negotiation, a glossary, a list of referenced cases, and a wealth of real-world examples to help readers put the material into context.
Film Production Management by
This new and updated fourth edition of Film Production Management provides a step-by-step guide on how to budget, organize, and successfully shoot a film and get it onto the big screen. Whether you are a film student or film production professional just getting started in the industry, this book is an indispensable resource for day-to-day business on the set.
The Complete Film Production Handbook by
This book is for working film/TV professionals and students alike. If you're a line producer, production manager, production supervisor, assistant director or production coordinator--the book has everything you'll need (including all the forms, contracts, releases and checklists) to set up and run a production--from finding a production office to turning over delivery elements.
The TV Studio Production Handbook by
Here is the one-stop handbook to make your studio production shine.The TV Studio Production Handbook explains the production process from beginning to end and covers everything media students need to know to create a successful studio television programme. It is an illuminating read for those starting out in the industry and an invaluable resource for students of media, film and TV.The book is packed with interviews from top TV executives from the UK, USA, Australia and China and includes live case studies from hit international formats covering every genre, from reality, to drama to news, with scripts from Britain's Got Talent, Big Brother, Coronation Street, The Chase, Teletubbies, Channel 4 News and more. The authors, both award-winning TV programme-makers and academic programme leaders, break things down genre by genre and explore pre-production, casting, scripting, as well as all the required paperwork from call sheets to running orders. They also examine the future of studio and the multiplatform opportunities available for programme makers internationally.
Dark Matter by
Who and what decides if a film gets funded? How do those who control the purse strings also determine a film's content and even its message? Writing as the director of award-winning feature films including Welcome to Sarajevo, 24 Hour Party People and The Road to Guantanamo as well as the hugely popular The Trip series, Michael Winterbottom provides an insider's view of the workings of international film funding and distribution, revealing how the studios that fund film production and control distribution networks also work against a sustainable independent film culture and limit innovation in filmmaking style and content.
The Business of Media Distribution: Monetizing Film, TV and Video Content In An Online World by
First published in 2013. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Bombay Hustle: Making Movies in a Colonial City by
From starry-eyed fans with dreams of fame to cotton entrepreneurs turned movie moguls, the Bombay film industry has historically energized a range of practices and practitioners, playing a crucial and compelling role in the life of modern India. Bombay Hustle presents an ambitious history of Indian cinema as a history of material practice, bringing new insights to studies of media, modernity, and the late colonial city. Drawing on original archival research and an innovative transdisciplinary approach, Debashree Mukherjee offers a panoramic portrait of the consolidation of the Bombay film industry during the talkie transition of the 1920s-1940s. In the decades leading up to independence in 1947, Bombay became synonymous with marketplace thrills, industrial strikes, and modernist experimentation. Its burgeoning film industry embodied Bombay's spirit of "hustle," gathering together and spewing out the many different energies and emotions that characterized the city. Bombay Hustle examines diverse sites of film production-finance, pre-production paperwork, casting, screenwriting, acting, stunts-to show how speculative excitement jostled against desires for scientific management in an industry premised on the struggle between contingency and control. Mukherjee develops the concept of a "cine-ecology" in order to examine the bodies, technologies, and environments that collectively shaped the production and circulation of cinematic meaning in this time. The book thus brings into view a range of marginalized film workers, their labor and experiences; forgotten film studios, their technical practices and aesthetic visions; and overlooked connections among media practices, geographical particularities, and historical exigencies.
Native Actors and Filmmakers by
Discover the unique lives and career paths of 12 Indigenous people who are actively working in the complex entertainment industry, either in front of or behind the camera. In addition to acting, their work includes motion picture, television and digital production in such roles as director, producer, writer, cinematographer and editor. Included in these biographies are real-world descriptions of what each member of a production team does, as well as advice on what it takes to get started in the entertainment industry. The glossary in the back of the book highlights the terminology used in TV/film production, and the list of resources provides a variety of ways to obtain additional information about the industry. B/W photos. Irene Bedard: Inupiat, Yupik, Inuit, Cree, Métis actor Tantoo Cardinal: Métis, Cree, Dene, Nakota actor Christopher Nataanii Cegielski: Diné (Navajo) writer, producer and director Sydney Freeland: Diné (Navajo) writer and director Kimberly Norris Guerrero: Colville actor, writer, producer and educator Michael Horse: Yaqui actor Jack Kohler: Hupa actor, producer, director and educator Doreen Manuel: Secwepemc/Ktunaxa producer, director and educator Alanis Obomsawin: Abenaki producer and director Randy Redroad: Cherokee writer, director and editor Gilbert Salas: Indigenous Mexican-American cinematographer and director of photography Ian Skorodin: Choctaw writer and director
A Complete Guide to Television, Field, and Digital Producing by Ask the library via chat, email or phone.
