Health and Safety in Canadian Workplaces by
This textbook provides workers and students with an introduction to effective injury prevention. It pays particular attention to how issues of precarious employment, gender, and ill-health can be better handled in Canadian occupational health and safety (OHS). Health and Safety in Canadian Workplaces offers an extensive overview of central OHS concepts and practices and provides practical suggestions for health and safety advocacy. It attempts to bring OHS into a twenty-first century context by discussing contemporary workplaces and the health effects of new work processes and structures while recognizing that safety has gendered and racialized dimensions. Foster and Barnetson contend that the practice of occupational health and safety can only be understood if we acknowledge that workers and employers have conflicting interests.
Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health by
A quick, easy-to-consult source of practical overviews on wide-ranging issues of concern for those responsible for the health and safety of workers This new and completely revised edition of the popular Handbook is an ideal, go-to resource for those who need to anticipate, recognize, evaluate, and control conditions that can cause injury or illness to employees in the workplace. Devised as a "how-to" guide, it offers a mix of theory and practice while adding new and timely topics to its core chapters, including prevention by design, product stewardship, statistics for safety and health, safety and health management systems, safety and health management of international operations, and EHS auditing. The new edition of Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health has been rearranged into topic sections to better categorize the flow of the chapters. Starting with a general introduction on management, it works its way up from recognition of hazards to safety evaluations and risk assessment. It continues on the health side beginning with chemical agents and ending with medical surveillance. The book also offers sections covering normal control practices, physical hazards, and management approaches (which focuses on legal issues and workers compensation). Features new chapters on current developments like management systems, prevention by design, and statistics for safety and health Written by a number of pioneers in the safety and health field Offers fast overviews that enable individuals not formally trained in occupational safety to quickly get up to speed Presents many chapters in a "how-to" format Featuring contributions from numerous experts in the field, Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health, 3rd Edition is an excellent tool for promoting and maintaining the physical, mental, and social well-being of workers in all occupations and is important to a company's financial, moral, and legal welfare.
Handbook of Safety Principles by
Presents recent breakthroughs in the theory, methods, and applications of safety and risk analysis for safety engineers, risk analysts, and policy makers Safety principles are paramount to addressing structured handling of safety concerns in all technological systems. This handbook captures and discusses the multitude of safety principles in a practical and applicable manner. It is organized by five overarching categories of safety principles: Safety Reserves; Information and Control; Demonstrability; Optimization; and Organizational Principles and Practices. With a focus on the structured treatment of a large number of safety principles relevant to all related fields, each chapter defines the principle in question and discusses its application as well as how it relates to other principles and terms. This treatment includes the history, the underlying theory, and the limitations and criticism of the principle. Several chapters also problematize and critically discuss the very concept of a safety principle. The book treats issues such as: What are safety principles and what roles do they have? What kinds of safety principles are there? When, if ever, should rules and principles be disobeyed? How do safety principles relate to the law; what is the status of principles in different domains? The book also features: * Insights from leading international experts on safety and reliability * Real-world applications and case studies including systems usability, verification and validation, human reliability, and safety barriers * Different taxonomies for how safety principles are categorized * Breakthroughs in safety and risk science that can significantly change, improve, and inform important practical decisions * A structured treatment of safety principles relevant to numerous disciplines and application areas in industry and other sectors of society * Comprehensive and practical coverage of the multitude of safety principles including maintenance optimization, substitution, safety automation, risk communication, precautionary approaches, non-quantitative safety analysis, safety culture, and many others The Handbook of Safety Principles is an ideal reference and resource for professionals engaged in risk and safety analysis and research. This book is also appropriate as a graduate and PhD-level textbook for courses in risk and safety analysis, reliability, safety engineering, and risk management offered within mathematics, operations research, and engineering departments. NIKLAS MÖLLER, PhD, is Associate Professor at the Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden. The author of approximately 20 international journal articles, Dr. Möller's research interests include the philosophy of risk, metaethics, philosophy of science, and epistemology. SVEN OVE HANSSON, PhD, is Professor of Philosophy at the Royal Institute of Technology. He has authored over 300 articles in international journals and is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences. Dr. Hansson is also a Topical Editor for the Wiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science. JAN-ERIK HOLMBERG, PhD, is Senior Consultant at Risk Pilot AB and Adjunct Professor of Probabilistic Riskand Safety Analysis at the Royal Institute of Technology. Dr. Holmberg received his PhD in Applied Mathematics from Helsinki University of Technology in 1997. CARL ROLLENHAGEN, PhD, is Adjunct Professor of Risk and Safety at the Royal Institute of Technology. Dr. Rollenhagen has performed extensive research in the field of human factors and MTO (Man, Technology, and Organization) with a specific emphasis on safety culture and climate, event investigation methods, and organizational safety assessment.
Occupational Health and Safety by Centennial College Libraries is licensed under a CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 license unless otherwise stated.