Library Guides: Social Service Work: Books & eBooks

Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text reference books, including dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks. Covers all subjects
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Complete and updated general reference encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of Social Work
The Encyclopedia of Social Work is the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). It includes over 800 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standard. New articles and revisions to existing articles are added regularly.
Canadian Encyclopedia of Social Work
Over five hundred topics important to Canadian social work are covered, written by a highly diverse group of social workers covering all aspects of the field and all areas of the country.

Introduction to social work in Canada by Ives, N.
integrates perspectives from English, French, and Indigenous Canada to provide an inclusive treatment of the history, foundational skills, and specific fields of social work practice and research.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Work by Mel Gray (Editor)
This Handbook is the world's first generic major reference work to provide an authoritative guide to the theory, method, and values of social work in one volume.
The Handbook of Community Practice by Marie Weil (Editor)
The Second Edition of The Handbook of Community Practice is expanded and updated with a major global focus and serves as a comprehensive guidebook of community practice grounded in social justice and human rights.
Interpersonal Social Work Skills for Community Practice by Donna Hardina
This textbook describes the essential interpersonal skills that social workers need in community practice and helps students cultivate them.
Social Work with Children and Families by Ian Butler
This key text covers core components of child and family work such as building effective relationships, assessment, child protection practice and working with the law. Clear and accessible, this practical book features case studies, questions and exercises throughout.