Library Guides: Project & Strategic Management: Start Here

Manage That!

Managing project risks by Peter J. Edwards
Call Number: HD61 .E3744
ISBN: 9781119489757
Publication Date: 2020
"This book provides a comprehensive overview of project risk management. Besides offering an easy to follow but systematic approach to project risk management, the book introduces topics which have an important bearing on how risks are managed but are generally not found in other books, including risk knowledge management; cultural risk-shaping; project complexity; political risks and strategic risk management. It aims to: Effectively communicate a conceptual and philosophical understanding of risk; Establish the nature of projects and the stakeholders involved in them; Present a systematic and logically progressive approach to the processes of project risk management; Discover the drivers of project risks and the factors which shape them; Emphasize the importance of capturing and exploiting project risk knowledge; Provide guidance about implementing and building (or improving) project risk management systems in organizations." - Publisher

How do I use this library thing, anyway?

If you like watching stuff, than you are in luck, because I have created a fabulous audio and visual experience just for you! While it may not have the same look and feel as the movie theatre experience, you will definitely get your money's worth, and you may learn something along the way. (Honk if you learned something today!)

Get on the fast track to earning your Library Smarts Micro-Credential! (not a real credential)

Library Collection Intro in Detail

"Must-sees" for the Advanced Library Smarts Micro-Credential!

Market Area Facts... at the tips of your fingers

Gather political, economic, social, environmental data and intelligence on the world's market stages using the online library collections.

Company Information Sources

Take a virtual tour of the library's company information sources.

Industry Information Sources

You guessed it! A title that needs no introduction...

Introducing the Virtual Shelf!

Project Management : A Multi-Perspective Leadership Framework by Hans Mikkelsen
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781787148307
Publication Date: 2017
"Modern projects are confronted with complexity and ambiguity. To provide a holistic framework, this book presents five core elements of a project: project management, project task, stakeholders, resources, and project environment. This model is used to identify the nature of a specific project and to develop appropriate project solutions for business success. It also allows a circular planning process that gradually leads to coherence among these five elements. To better cope with the complexity of the project environment, the authors adopt a multi-perspective framework that considers technical, business, organisational, and stakeholder perspectives. This framework recommends that change management is viewed as an integral part of a project. This book is organized in two, almost equal parts: a theoretical part that covers the key models and issues related to project management, and a set of appendices, which include a number of tool sheets aimed at providing practical methods, techniques and checklists. By integrating the theoretical and the practical, the authors extend and rethink recent developments in agile and lean approaches to project management." - Publisher
Project Risk Management : A Practical Implementation Approach by Bissonette, Mike
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781628251159
Publication Date: 2016
"It's not exactly news that putting the concepts of risk management into action can help make a project more successful. In fact, a solid understanding of risk management is a vital component of any project management professional's training, regardless of the industry in which he or she might work. In today's fast-paced, constantly changing, and extremely competitive environment, risk management is more important than ever for businesses hoping to find their footing in the global market. In Project Risk Management: A Practical Implementation Approach, author Michael M. Bissonette not only provides insights into the best ways to implement the traditional techniques of risk management, but also explores innovative new methods that can help modern organizations build their culture, improve financial performance, and ultimately achieve greater success in all of their projects." - Publisher

Short Cut to Company/Industry/MarketArea/Demographic Info

If you are looking for information sources describing company data, industry information, and market area facts, there is a guide just for you!

Business Analysis: information sources

Article Kick Start!

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

ABI/INFORM Collection

CBCA Complete

Sage Premier

Business Insights Global

LexisNexis Academic

Academic Search Premier

Research Library

Title Searching in the groove

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report! With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: J ournal Search. This tool directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) they resides in!

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: Harvard Business Review... shows up in few places, including here!

You may want to practice with a few of these titles!

Project & Strategic Management

Academy of Strategic Management Journal

California Management Review

Cross Cultural & Strategic Management

Harvard Business Review

International Journal of Construction Project Management

International Journal of Managing Projects in Business

International Journal of Project Management

International Journal of Strategic Property Management

Journal of Management

Journal of Modern Project Management

Strategic Organization

Supply Chain Management

Stoke the Research Fire Pit

The purpose of this guide is to provide a "toe-dip" into the library's collections as they pertain to Project and Strategic Management students. If you want to drop deeper into the bottomless pit of research, check out these other two guides:

Fundamentals of Business & Business 119

Business 733/333

While these guides are "for" these courses, their real purpose is to open up the library to students in new ways, covering journal and magazine discovery and evaluation, search strategies, along with navigating the streamed audio-visual experiences, and giving a little head-space to APA.

Heavy Lifting!

Effective project management through applied cost and schedule control by James A. Bent
Call Number: TA177.4 .E36
ISBN: 0367401347
Publication Date: 2019
"This work outlines a state-of-the-art project control and trending programme, focusing on advanced applied-cost and schedule-control skills for all phases of a project at both owner and contractor level. It contains information on the three major aspects of the total project programme: the techniques and procedures utilized for a project; the experience and analytical ability of project personnel; and the commitment and teamwork of a project group." - Publisher
Global supply chain security and management : appraising programs, preventing crimes by Darren Prokop
ISBN: 9780128008201
Publication Date: 2017
"This book showcases industry leaders and their best practices, also exploring how the government is both a policing organization and a supply chain partner. In addition, it covers the critical roles that various technologies play, focusing on how Big Data is collected and turned into knowledge. By using the tools provided, readers will gain a stronger understanding of the challenges and opportunities faced by any organization that imports or exports products." - Publisher
Managing cultural differences : global leadership for the 21st century by Neil R. Abramson
Call Number: HD62.4 .H37
ISBN: 9781138223684
Publication Date: 2018
"In today's global business environment, it is vital that individuals and organizations have sophisticated global leadership skills. Communication and understanding of different cultures is paramount to business success. This new edition of the bestselling textbook, Managing Cultural Differences, guides students and practitioners to an understanding of how to do business internationally, providing practical advice on how competitive advantage can be gained through effective cross-cultural management. Crises in the Middle East, the weakening of some emerging markets, and the value of diversity and inclusion are just a few examples of contemporary issues discussed in this text, which also introduces a completely new chapter on global business ethics." - Publisher
People risk management : a practical approach to managing the human factors that could harm your business by Keith Blacker
Call Number: HF5549 .B567
ISBN: 9780749471354
Publication Date: 2015
"People are at the core of corporate success and failure. Researchers in behavioral psychology have discovered that individual persons and groups are not good at making decisions as they fall prey to human biases, giving rise to the term "people risk." Risk management experts Keith Blacker and Patrick McConnell provide a business-friendly introduction to behavioral psychology, explaining how biases, illusions, and conflicts of interest can lead board members, managers, and employees to make potentially disastrous decisions. Using case studies and examples, the authors demonstrate how crucial people risk management is and how ineffective risk management can create crises. They also offer practical tips and tools for changing the culture and structure of organizations to better align people risks with corporate values and provide advice on managing the roles and responsibilities of those directly involved in overseeing risk and people management." - Publisher

Lending a hand!

International Association for Strategy Professionals
The International Association for Strategy Professionals (IASP) is a non-profit professional society whose mission is to lead and support people and organizations through the promotion of a holistic approach to strategy management and by setting standards for strategy through thought leadership, professional development and certification.
Project Management Association of Canada
In a world where project management is becoming a vital force for innovation and organizational behaviour, it is incumbent upon those within the profession to maintain a community in which diversity, creativity and open-mindedness are its hallmarks. PMAC-AGPC members believe that Canada represents these ideals and is, as a result, ideally positioned to serve a new assembly of project managers as it faces unique new challenges in the coming years. Canada is unique in its ability to serve both a national people and an international stage. It has obligations to both and, unlike many, the capacity to deliver to both. PMAC-AGPC has the same unique challenge and sees itself being able to reach it from the beginning.

Have a look over here!

Career management for life by Jeffrey H. Greenhaus
Call Number: HF5549.5 .M3 G734
ISBN: 9781138636460
Publication Date: 2019
"Career Management for Life" provides students and employees with an integrative approach to managing their careers on an ongoing basis to achieve a satisfying balance between their work and their family responsibilities, community involvement, and personal interests. The career management model guides individuals through the different phases of their career from figuring out what their first job should be right to navigating the road to retirement." - Publisher
Soft skills for the workplace by Goodheart-Willcox Company
Call Number: HF5381 .S644
ISBN: 9781645646457
Publication Date: 2022
"Soft Skills for the Workplace" is a nontraditional approach to learning basic employability skills needed in today's workplace. Learning how to interact professionally with customers, coworkers, and employers is one sure way to prepare for a career. In today's workplace, it is necessary to have job-specific skills to perform on the job as well as the know-how to interact with coworkers and customers. You may be the most qualified person in your field in terms of hard skills, but if you lack soft skills, you may have a challenge finding and retaining employment. No matter your career choice, "Soft Skills for the Workplace" will help you jump-start your future. In today's competitive work environment, well-developed employability skills can help you stand out in the crowd.

Career Info!

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!