Library Guides: Digital Literacy: Books & eBooks

Background Information

Consult these reference sources for background information:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text reference books, including dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks. Covers all subjects
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Complete and updated general reference encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of Social Media & Politics

Recommended eBooks

Digital Literacies for Learning by Allan Martin & Dan Madigan
Traditional notions of literacy need to be challenged, and new literacies, including information literacy and IT literacy, need to be considered as foundation elements for digitally involved learners
Empowering Scientific Literacy Through Digital Literacy and Multiliteracies by Wan Ng
We should capitalise on digital technologies and the motivating influence of technology for learning to foster the development of scientific literacy in students.
Teaching the iGeneration (2010) by William M. Ferriter & Adam Garry
Each chapter introduces a digital solution that can be used to enhance traditional skill-based instructional practices. Includes A handouts and supporting materials.
The Digital Youth Network by Brigid Barron et al.
Reports findings from a pioneering mixed-method three-year study of the Digital Youth Network, and how it nurtured imaginative production, expertise with digital media tools, and the propensity to share creative capacities with others.
From Social Butterfly to Engaged Citizen by Marcus Foth
This book examines how iIcollaborative, and personalizable technology is shaping not just our social interactions but new kinds of civic engagement with cities, communities, and spaces.

eBook Collections

Search within eBook collections avaialble from Centennial College Libraries:

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full text books in all subject areas for reading online. Some books can be downloaded for offline use. Includes Cliffs Notes.
Only one reader is allowed per book, for both online browsing and offline checkout. Users must create an EBSCO account for offline checkout. Instructions for downloading e-books can be found at http://support.ebsco.com/ebooks.
North American eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks on academic subjects. Includes French language content.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Full-text references, updates and graphics of eight textbooks in the areas of medicine, nursing and pharmacology.
The titles available are: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott’s Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses’ Guide to Clinical Procedures and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation.
IEEE Xplore: IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Access the full-text to more than 4.5 million documents, including 192 IEEE publications, 30+ IET journals and 25 conference titles, 1700+ proceedings from IEEE and IET conferences, IEEE standards, and INSPEC abstract and citation records.
O'Reilly For Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Full text of current books about programming, systems and software engineering.
Books can be read online (including mobile devices) but not downloaded.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access more than 36,000 full-text ebooks for college programs.