Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Project & Strategic Management

Manage That!

Introducing the Virtual Shelf!

Successful Project Management

By Trevor L. Young

"Successful Project Management is an essential guide for anyone who wants to improve the success rates of their projects. It will help managers to maintain a balance between the demands of the customer, the project, the team and the organization. Covering the more technical aspects of a project from start to completion, Successful Project Management contains tried-and-tested techniques covering project conception and start-up, how to manage stake holders, effective risk management, project planning, launch and execution. Also including a brand new glossary of key terms, it provides help with evaluating your project as well as practical checklists, templates and a key stage work plan to ensure success for any ambitious project manager."

 

Project Risk Management: A Practical Implementation Approach

By Mike Bissonette

"It's not exactly news that putting the concepts of risk management into action can help make a project more successful. In fact, a solid understanding of risk management is a vital component of any project management professional's training, regardless of the industry in which he or she might work. In today's fast-paced, constantly changing, and extremely competitive environment, risk management is more important than ever for businesses hoping to find their footing in the global market. In Project Risk Management: A Practical Implementation Approach, author Michael M. Bissonette not only provides insights into the best ways to implement the traditional techniques of risk management, but also explores innovative new methods that can help modern organizations build their culture, improve financial performance, and ultimately achieve greater success in all of their projects."

Stepping in to the Library's Collections

If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.

ProTip: Everything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca

 

It's time to activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.

If you think of the Internet as a pile, the library, on the other hand, is a collection.  We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success.  The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the name of the resource(s) you need. 

There are several points of entry into the collections: Search Keywords box, A-Z list, Media Type filter, and the School List filter.

ProTip: The Search Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, a resource.  It is not designed to search within the collection.

 

Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!

Not sure what's inside a collection (database)?  Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:

Business Source Complete

Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.  Includes full text of the Harvard Business Review, and Datamonitor country, company, and industry reports.

Working off-campus, you may be asked to login.  Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.

 

Next box...

Short Cut to Company/Industry/MarketArea/Demographic Info

If you are looking for information sources describing company data, industry information, and market area facts, there is a guide just for you!

Business Analysis: information sources

Article Kick Start!

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

 

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

ABI/INFORM Collection

CBCA Complete

Sage Premier

Business Insights Global

LexisNexis Academic

Academic Search Premier

Research Library

Title Searching in the groove

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report!  With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: Full Text Journals.  This tool, located on the library's homepage, below the Library Guides link, directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) it resides in.

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: MIT Sloan Management Review... shows up in few places, including here!

 

You may want to practice with a few of these titles!

Project & Strategic Management

Academy of Strategic Management Journal

California Management Review

Cross Cultural & Strategic Management

Harvard Business Review

International Journal of Construction Project Management

International Journal of Managing Projects in Business

International Journal of Project Management

International Journal of Strategic Property Management

Journal of Management

Journal of Modern Project Management

Strategic Organization

Supply Chain Management

Rev Up the Research Fire Pit

The purpose of this guide is to provide a "toe-dip" into the library's collections as they pertain to Project and Strategic Management students.  If you want to drop deeper into the bottomless pit of research, check out these other two guides:

Fundamentals of Business & Business 119

Business 733/333

While these guides are "for" these courses, their real purpose is to open up the library to students in new ways, covering journal and magazine discovery and evaluation, search strategies, along with navigating the streamed audio-visual experiences, and giving a little head-space to APA.

Heavy Lifting!

Lending a hand!

Have a look over here!

Career Info

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!

chat loading...