Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Food and Beverage Management

Aroma Therapy

Grab and Go!

Business of Winemaking

By Jeffrey L. Lamy

"The Business of Winemaking places all facets of the wine business in perspective for investors, owners, and anyone else who is interested in how the wine business operates. Abundantly illustrated and written in a readily understandable style, the book addresses the technical rudiments of viticulture and enology and all of its related business actions: market analysis, vineyard and winery design, construction and equipment costs, regulatory and legislative issues, accounting and recordkeeping, financial analysis, tax considerations, typical salaries by geographical area, the minimum economic size of vineyards, the business plan, financing, product pricing, advertising, and sustainable farming and immigrant labor. A comprehensive, this book features examples from 20 sites from coast to coast, making it an ideal resource for anyone wanting to better understand the inner workings of winemaking."

 

Barrel-Aged Stout and Selling Out: Goose Island, Anheuser-Busch, and How Craft Beer Became Big Business

By Josh Noel

"Goose Island opened as a family-owned Chicago brewpub in the late 1980s, and it soon became one of the most inventive breweries in the world. In the golden age of light, bland and cheap beers, John Hall and his son Greg brought European flavors to America. With distribution in two dozen states, two brewpubs and status as one of the 20 biggest breweries in the United States, Goose Island became an American success story and was a champion of craft beer. Then, on March 28, 2011, the Halls sold the brewery to Anheuser-Busch InBev, maker of Budweiser, the least craft-like beer imaginable. The sale forced the industry to reckon with craft beer's mainstream appeal and a popularity few envisioned. Josh Noel broke the news of the sale in the Chicago Tribune, and he covered the resulting backlash from Chicagoans and beer fanatics across the country as the discussion escalated into an intellectual craft beer war. Anheuser-Busch has since bought nine other craft breweries, and from among the outcry rises a question that Noel addresses through personal anecdotes from industry leaders: how should a brewery grow?"

 

Open Innovation in the Food and Beverage Industry

By Marian Garcia Martinez

"Open innovation in the food and beverage industry is a unique guide to the implementation and management of open innovation for all food industry professionals involved in management, research and product development, as well as academics with an interest in open innovation across all industries. Investigates the challenges and opportunities afforded by the incorporation of open innovation into the food industry. Provides a comprehensive overview of the changing nature of innovation in the food and drink industry and reviews the role of partners and networks in open innovation. Explores the establishment and varied management aspects of open innovation partnerships and networks and discusses the development, application and psychology of a range of initiatives."

Stepping in to the library's collections

If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.

ProTipEverything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca

 

It's time to activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.

If you think of the Internet as a pile, the library, on the other hand, is a collection.  We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success.  The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the resource(s) you need. 

There are several points of entry into the collections: Search Keywords box, A-Z list, Media Type filter, and the School List filter.

ProTip: The Search Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, a resource.  It is not designed to search within the collection.

 

Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!

Not sure what's inside a collection (database)?  Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:

Business Source Complete

Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.  Includes full text of the Harvard Business Review, and Datamonitor country, company, and industry reports.

 

Working off-campus, you may be asked to login.  Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.

Next box...

Dust the flour off the counter, and crack open the books... I mean articles!

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

 

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

Sage Premier

Taylor & Francis eJournals

Research Library

Academic Search Premier

Culinary Arts Collection

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

Turning up the heat with Title Searching

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report!  With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: Full Text Journals.  This tool, located on the library's homepage, below the Library Guides link, directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) it resides in.

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: Take a leisurely walk through the issues of the Cornell Hospitality Quarterly

 

Have a look at these:

Food and Beverage Management

Beverage Industry

Cornell Hospitality Quarterly

Food & Hospitality World

International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management

Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Research

Journal of Hospitality Marketing and Management

Journal of Service Management

Nation's Restaurant News

Restaurant Business

Restaurant Hospitality

Going Deep, into the Web of Research

The purpose of this guide is to provide a "toe-dip" into the library's collections as they pertain to Food and Beverage Management students.  If you want to walk deeper into the cave of research, check out this other guide:

Food Theory HOSP105 & Theory of Food COOK105

While this guide is "for" these courses, its real purpose is to open up the library to student in new ways, covering journal and magazine discovery and evaluation, search strategies, along with navigating the streamed audio-visual experiences.

To eat...

...and to drink!

Together!

Get in the Loop!

Dreaming

Career Info

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!

chat loading...