Skip to main content

Business 733/333

The Craft of Writing

Our online library picks up on the business of writing clearly and concisely. Get connected to the best business information sources today!

Business Writing for Managers

By Ken O'Quinn

"Communication skills are important for everyone, but especially for managers. In this issue Ken O'Quinn walks managers through a process for crafting clear, effective prose. He provides guidance for organizing your thinking, creating your first draft, and fine-tuning your words to make them as clear as possible."

Business Writing for Technical People

By Carrie Marshall

"In this book you'll discover how to give your communication skills an upgrade, exploring the tips and tricks that will enable you to write effectively and persuasively for any audience."

How to Write Reports and Proposals

By Patrick Forsyth

"This book provides practical advice on how to impress, convince and persuade your colleagues or clients. It will help you: improve your writing skills; think constructively before writing; create a good report; produce persuasive proposals; use clear and distinctive language; present numbers, graphs and charts effectively."

Stepping into the library collections

If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.

ProTip: Everything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca

It's time to activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.

If you think of the Internet as a pile, the library, on the other hand, is a collection.  We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success.  The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the resource(s) you need. 

There are several points of entry into the collections: Search Keywords box, A-Z list, Media Type filter, and the School List filter.

ProTip: The Search Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, a resource.  It is not designed to search within the collection.

Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!

Not sure what's inside a collection (database)?  Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:

Business Source Complete

Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.  Includes full text of the Harvard Business Review, and Datamonitor country, company, and industry reports.

Working off-campus, you may be asked to login.  Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.

 

Next box...

chat loading...