Library Guides: Business Administration, Leadership & Cracking the Glass Ceiling!: Start Here

WATCH!

THE QUESTION

The superwoman myth: can contemporary women have it all now? by Loh, Jennifer
Call Number: HQ1155 .L64 2022
ISBN: 9780367896928
Publication Date: 2022
"This book will motivate younger women who are embarking on their first career and looking to develop the inner leadership that helps them thrive in life." - Publisher

Meet the Virtual Ceiling, in Books!

Corporate Tribalism : White Men/white Women and Cultural Diversity at Work by Kochman, Thomas
Call Number: E-Book!
ISBN: 9780226449579
Publication Date: 2009
"As more and more people who are not white men enter corporate America, we urgently need to learn how to avoid culture clashes and how to resolve them when they do occur. Thomas Kochman and Jean Mavrelis have been helping corporations successfully do that for over twenty years. Their diversity training and consulting firm has helped managers and employees at numerous companies recognize and overcome the cultural bases of miscommunication between ethnic groups and across gender lines and in Corporate Tribalism they seek to share their expertise with the world. In the first half of the book, Kochman addresses white men, explicating the ways that their cultural background can motivate their behavior, work style, and perspective on others. Then Mavrelis turns to white women, focusing on the particular problems they face, including conflicts with men, other women, and themselves. Together they emphasize the need for a multicultural rather than homogenizing approach and offer constructive ideas for turning the workplace into a more interactive community for everyone who works there. Written with the wisdom and clarity gained from two decades of hands-on work, Corporate Tribalism will be an invaluable resource as we look toward a future beyond the glass ceiling." - Publisher
The Glass Wall : Success Strategies for Women at Work – and Businesses That Mean Business by Unerman, Sue
Call Number: E-Book!
ISBN: 9781781256947
Publication Date: 2016
"Never mind the glass ceiling. In the workplace today there's a glass wall. Men and women can see each other clearly through the divide, but they don't speak the same language or have the same expectations. And as a result, women and their careers are suffering. With more women than ever in the workforce, but still too few in the boardroom, now is the time to address the assumptions and miscommunication holding women back. This book gives women the tools they need to master any situation. Drawing on Unerman and Jacob's own experience in male-dominated businesses, as well as over a hundred interviews with both men and women, The Glass Wall provides clear, smart and easy-to apply strategies for success. From unlocking ambition and developing resilience to nurturing creativity and getting noticed, these are the skills that everyone needs to learn to help break down that wall and create better workplaces for all." - Publisher

How do I use this library thing?

If you like watching stuff, than you are in luck, because I have created a fabulous audio and visual experience just for you! While it may not have the same look and feel as the movie theatre experience, you will definitely get your money's worth, and you may learn something along the way. (Honk if you learned something today!)

Get on the fast track to earning your Library Smarts Micro-Credential! (not a real credential)

Library Collection Intro in Detail

"Must-sees" for the Advanced Library Smarts Micro-Credential!

Market Area Facts... at the tips of your fingers

Gather political, economic, social, environmental data and intelligence on the world's market stages using the online library collections.

Company Information Sources

Take a virtual tour of the library's company information sources.

Industry Information Sources

You guessed it! A title that needs no introduction...

Smashing the Glass Ceiling! (Print Style)

Executive sexism: how men treat women at the highest levels, why law does not protect them, and what should change by Wolfe, Elizabeth C.
Call Number: HD6054.3 .W625
ISBN: 9781440859564
Publication Date: 2019
"In the long shadow of a presidential election rife with charges of sexist actions, this book explains how very common such behavior is among executives, why law doesn't protect victims, and how female professionals can bring change." - Publisher
Glass half-broken: shattering the barriers that still hold women back at work by Ammerman, Colleen
Call Number: HD6050 .A66
ISBN: 9781633695931
Publication Date: 2021
"Presenting institutional and managerial strategies designed to overcome and mitigate these barriers at each step in the career path, Glass Half-Broken is the authoritative resource that managers and leaders at all levels can use to finally shatter the glass ceiling." - Publisher
The highest glass ceiling : women's quest for the American presidency by Ellen F. Fitzpatrick
Call Number: HQ1236 .F49
ISBN: 9780674088931
Publication Date: 2016
"A woman will one day occupy the Oval Office because women themselves have made it inevitable, says best-selling historian Ellen Fitzpatrick. She tells the remarkable 150-year story of the candidates, voters, activists, and citizens who, despite overwhelming odds against women in politics, set their sights on the highest glass ceiling in the land." - Publisher
Road to power : how GM's Mary Barra shattered the glass ceiling by Laura Colby
Call Number: HD9710 .U52 B333
ISBN: 9781118972632
Publication Date: 2015
"Study the valuable lessons Barra learned at each stage in her professional life, and why they stuck with her throughout her journey to the top Barra is most certainly a pioneer for women in business, but she's also a living lesson as to how far the right outlook, skills, and drive can take you in your career. Road to Power explores the talent and the mindset that got her all the way to the top." - Publisher
Shattered, cracked, or firmly intact? : women and the executive glass ceiling worldwide by Farida Jalalzai
Call Number: HD6054.3 .J35
ISBN: 9780190602093
Publication Date: 2016
"How do men's and women's paths to political office differ? Once in office, are women's powers more constrained than those of men? The number of women in executive leadership positions has grown substantially over the past five decades, and women now govern in vastly different contexts around the world. But their climbs to such positions don't necessarily correspond with social status and the existence of gender equity. In Shattered, Cracked, or Firmly Intact? Farida Jalalzai outlines important patterns related to women executive's paths, powers, and potential impacts. In doing so, she combines qualitative and quantitative analysis and explores both contexts in which women successfully gained executive power and those in which they did not." - Publisher

Stepping in it... the library's collections that is!

If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.

ProTip: Everything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca

You can activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.

If you think of the Internet as a pile of stuff, the library, on the other hand, is a collection. We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success. The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the name of the information resource(s) you need.

There are several points of entry into the collections: Keywords box (Search for Databases), A-Z list, and the School List filter (All Subjects).

ProTip: The Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, an information resource. It is not designed to search within the collection. Even if you are unsure of the complete database name, try representative keywords, such as "Business." You probably won't be disappointed!

Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!

Not sure what's inside a collection (database)? Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:

Business Source Complete

Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research...

Working off-campus, you may be asked to login. Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.

Next box...

Short Cut to Company/Industry/MarketArea/Demographic Info

If you are looking for information sources describing company data, industry information, and market area facts, there is a guide just for you!

Business Analysis: information sources

Smash and Grab... that Article!

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

ABI/INFORM Collection

CBCA Complete

Sage Premier

Business Insights Global

Euromonitor Passport

LexisNexis Academic

Statista

Academic Search Premier

Research Library

Tip Toe into (Journal) Title Searching

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report! With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: J ournal Search. This tool directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) they resides in!

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: Advancing Women in Leadership... shows up here!

You may want to practice with a few of these titles!

Business Administration

Academy of Management Review

Advancing Women in Leadership

California Management Review

Journal of Management

Organization Science

Research Process Primer

The purpose of this guide is to provide a "toe-dip" into the library's collections as they pertain to Business Administration students. If you want to drop deeper into the bottomless pit of research, check out these other two guides:

Fundamentals of Business & Business 119

Business 733/333

While these guides are "for" these courses, their real purpose is to open up the library to students in new ways, covering journal and magazine discovery and evaluation, search strategies, along with navigating the streamed audio-visual experiences, and giving a little head-space to APA.

Lead from everywhere!

Best team wins : the new science of high performance by Adrian Robert Gostick
Call Number: HD66 .G673
ISBN: 9781501179860
Publication Date: 2018
"Explains the "five disciplines of team leaders," based on the study of more than 850,000 employee engagement questionaires, that result in the most effective and successful workplace teams under contemporary circumstances." - Publisher
Leadership on the line : staying alive through the dangers of change by Ronald A. Heifetz
Call Number: HM1261 .H45
ISBN: 9781633692831
Publication Date: 2017
"Those who choose to lead plunge in, take the risks, and sometimes get burned. But it doesn't have to be that way say renowned leadership experts Ronald Heifetz and Marty Linsky. In Leadership on the Line, they show how it's possible to make a difference without getting "taken out" or pushed aside. They present everyday tools that give equal weight to the dangerous work of leading change and the critical importance of personal survival. Through vivid stories from all walks of life, the authors present straightforward strategies for navigating the perilous straits of leadership. Whether you're a parent or a politician, a CEO or a community activist, this practical book shows how you can exercise leadership and survive and thrive to enjoy the fruits of your labor." - Publisher
Leading in English : how to confidently communicate and inspire others in the international workplace by Stephan Mardyks
Call Number: HF5718 .M369
ISBN: 9781119361305
Publication Date: 2017
"Whether language is a small stumbling block or a large hurdle in your workplace, this book can help you overcome the issues and be happier, more confident, and more effective at your job. Communication is tremendously important in the workplace. When English presents a barrier, removing that obstacle must be priority number one. This book helps you do that, with expert insight, practical tips, and a bit of humor to help shift your perspective." - Publisher
Leading the unleadable : how to manage mavericks, cynics, divas and other difficult people by Alan Willett
Call Number: HD57.7 .W533
ISBN: 9780814437605
Publication Date: 2017
"Is that one guy dragging you all down? The control-freak, the narcissist, the slacker, the cynic... Difficult people are the worst part of a manager's job. Whether it comes from direct reports or people above, outbursts, irrational demands, griping, and other disruptions need to be dealt with-and it's your responsibility to do it. Leading the Unleadable turns this dreaded chore into a straight forward process that gently, yet effectively, improves behaviors. Written by an insider in the tech industry, where personality issues routinely wreck projects, the book reveals a core truth: most people actually want to contribute results, not cause headaches. Once you realize the potential for change, the book's simple steps, examples, and scripts explain how to right even the most hopeless situations." - Publisher
Reimagining work : strategies to disrupt talent, lead change, and win with a flexible workforce by Robert Biederman
Call Number: HD5109 .B5195
ISBN: 9781119389569
Publication Date: 2018
"Reimagining Work lays out a vision for the future of work. Global companies are increasingly focused on a more dynamic, agile approach to talent, yet few software providers or academic thought leaders have created an operating system to manage a complicated but likely inevitable endeavor. This book offers an essential guide for accelerating the future of work into the present situation for your company." - Publisher

Advice!

Linda Hasenfratz
Linda Hasenfratz, President, Chairman, and CEO of Linamar Corporation, speaking at Inspiring Future Women in Science Perimeter Institute

Her Way!

Disrupters : success strategies from women who break the mold by Patti Fletcher
Call Number: HF5386 .F419
ISBN: 9781599186207
Publication Date: 2018
"The business world is stacked against women who have been trained to follow the deeply ingrained, unspoken rules of business culture created long before they entered the workforce. But imagine a world where women throw out the old playbook and start making their own rules. Tech executive, board member, and angel investor Dr. Patti Fletcher helps you recognize and smash those old rules and introduces you to the women who have found success by breaking them. With exciting insights and uplifting stories, Disrupters reveals the keys you need to achieve your own version of success." - Publisher
The memo : what women of color need to know to secure a seat at the table by Minda Harts
Call Number: HD6057.5 .U5 H37
ISBN: 9781580058469
Publication Date: 2019
"Lean In for women of color: A no-BS look at the odds stacked against women of color in professional settings, from the wage gap to biases and micro-aggressions, with actionable takeaways." - Publisher
The myth of the nice girl: achieving a career you love without becoming a person you hate by Fran Hauser
Call Number: HF5382.6 .H375
ISBN: 9781328832955
Publication Date: 2018
"A guide for ambitious women who want to succeed without losing themselves deconstructs the double standards that label and hold back women, sharing anecdotes and strategies for sidestepping regressive stereotypes, cultivating confidence, and balancing personal and professional values." - Publisher

Career Info...

Looking for...

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!

Not to be left behind!

Ladies get paid: the ultimate guide to breaking barriers, owning your worth, and taking command of your career by Wasserman, Claire
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1982126922
Publication Date: 2021
"This powerful call to action provides the tools you need to strategically navigate the workplace, achieve success, and become a true leader." - Publisher
Mastering your inner critic and 7 other high hurdles to advancement : how the best women leaders practice self-awareness to change what really matters by Brady, Susan
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1260440613
Publication Date: 2019
IT’S TIME TO STOP QUESTIONING YOURSELF— AND START TAKING CONTROL OF YOUR SUCCESS! "Filled with inspiring anecdotes from accomplished women at various stages in their careers, as well as proven strategies any woman can use in the workplace, this unique and self-motivating guide helps you confront your inner critic, face your hurdles head on, and achieve the goals that really matter—to you." - Publisher
The skills : from first job to dream job : what every woman needs to know by Husain, Mishal
Call Number: HF5382.6 .H87
ISBN: 9780062933355
Publication Date: 2019
"In The Skills, award-winning broadcaster Mishal Husain inspires, champions, and encourages women to make their ambitions a reality by focusing on practical skills that make a difference." - Publisher