Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Administration, Leadership & Cracking the Glass Ceiling!

for library assistance contact me directly at rsims@centennialcollege.ca

Meet the Virtual Ceiling, in Books!

The Glass Wall: Success Strategies for Women at Work, and Businesses That Mean Business

By Sue Unerman and Kathryn Jacob

"Never mind the glass ceiling. In the workplace today there's a glass wall. Men and women can see each other clearly through the divide, but they don't speak the same language or have the same expectations. And as a result, women and their careers are suffering. With more women than ever in the workforce, but still too few in the boardroom, now is the time to address the assumptions and miscommunication holding women back. This book gives women the tools they need to master any situation. Drawing on Unerman and Jacob's own experience in male-dominated businesses, as well as over a hundred interviews with both men and women, The Glass Wall provides clear, smart and easy-to apply strategies for success. From unlocking ambition and developing resilience to nurturing creativity and getting noticed, these are the skills that everyone needs to learn to help break down that wall and create better workplaces for all."

Corporate Tribalism: White Men/White Women and Cultural Diversity at Work

By Thomas Kochman and Jean Mavrelis

"As more and more people who are not white men enter corporate America, we urgently need to learn how to avoid culture clashes and how to resolve them when they do occur. Thomas Kochman and Jean Mavrelis have been helping corporations successfully do that for over twenty years. Their diversity training and consulting firm has helped managers and employees at numerous companies recognize and overcome the cultural bases of miscommunication between ethnic groups and across gender lines and in Corporate Tribalism they seek to share their expertise with the world. In the first half of the book, Kochman addresses white men, explicating the ways that their cultural background can motivate their behavior, work style, and perspective on others. Then Mavrelis turns to white women, focusing on the particular problems they face, including conflicts with men, other women, and themselves. Together they emphasize the need for a multicultural rather than homogenizing approach and offer constructive ideas for turning the workplace into a more interactive community for everyone who works there. Written with the wisdom and clarity gained from two decades of hands-on work, Corporate Tribalism will be an invaluable resource as we look toward a future beyond the glass ceiling."

Smashing the Glass Ceiling!

Stepping in to the Library's Collections

If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.

ProTip: Everything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca

 

It's time to activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.

If you think of the Internet as a pile, the library, on the other hand, is a collection.  We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success.  The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the name of the resource(s) you need. 

There are several points of entry into the collections: Search Keywords box, A-Z list, Media Type filter, and the School List filter.

ProTip: The Search Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, a resource.  It is not designed to search within the collection.

 

Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!

Not sure what's inside a collection (database)?  Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:

Business Source Complete

Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.  Includes full text of the Harvard Business Review, and Datamonitor country, company, and industry reports.

 

Working off-campus, you may be asked to login.  Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.

Next box...

Short Cut to Company/Industry/MarketArea/Demographic Info

If you are looking for information sources describing company data, industry information, and market area facts, there is a guide just for you!

Business Analysis: information sources

Smash and Grab... that Article!

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

 

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

ABI/INFORM Collection

CBCA Complete

Sage Premier

Business Insights Global

Euromonitor Passport

LexisNexis Academic

Statista

Academic Search Premier

Research Library

Tip Toe into Title Searching

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report!  With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: Full Text Journals.  This tool, located on the library's homepage, below the Library Guides link, directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) it resides in.

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: MIT Sloan Management Review... shows up in few places, including here!

 

You may want to practice with a few of these titles!

Business Administration

Academy of Management Review

Advancing Women in Leadership

California Management Review

Journal of Management

Organization Science

Research Process Primer

The purpose of this guide is to provide a "toe-dip" into the library's collections as they pertain to Business Administration students.  If you want to drop deeper into the bottomless pit of research, check out these other two guides:

Fundamentals of Business & Business 119

Business 733/333

While these guides are "for" these courses, their real purpose is to open up the library to students in new ways, covering journal and magazine discovery and evaluation, search strategies, along with navigating the streamed audio-visual experiences, and giving a little head-space to APA.

Another glass ceiling...

Lead from everywhere!

Advice!

Her Way!

Career Info

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!

chat loading...