Library Guides: Supply Chain Management: Start Here

A must see!

Freighted: the real price of shipping
90% of the goods we consume in the West are manufactured in far-off lands and brought to us by ship. The cargo shipping industry is a key player in world economy and forms the basis of our very model of modern civilisation; without it, it would be impossible to fulfil the ever-increasing demands of our societies. Yet the functioning and regulations of this business remain largely obscure to many, and its hidden costs affect us all. Due to their size, freight ships no longer fit in traditional city harbours; they have moved out of the public's eye, behind barriers and check points. The film answers questions such as: Who pulls the strings in this multi-billion dollar business? To what extent does the industry control our policy makers? How does it affect the environment above and below the water-line? And what's life like for modern seafarers? Taking us on a journey over seas and oceans, Freightened reveals in an audacious investigation the many faces of world-wide freight shipping and sheds light on the consequences of an all-but-visible industry.

You say you want a revolution, Well, you know...

The supply chain revolution : innovative sourcing and logistics for a fiercely competitive world by Suman Sarkar
Call Number: HD38.5 .S265
ISBN: 9780814438787
Publication Date: 2017
"The Supply Chain Revolution will: Improve customer satisfaction and increase revenue -- Make alliances more successful -- Simplify and debottleneck the supply chain -- Boost retail success by managing store investment -- Drive excellence. Technology is disrupting business models. Strategies must change. The Supply Chain Revolution flips conventional thinking and offers a powerful way for companies to compete in challenging times." - Publisher

How do I use this library thing, anyway?

If you like watching stuff, than you are in luck, because I have created a fabulous audio and visual experience just for you! While it may not have the same look and feel as the movie theatre experience, you will definitely get your money's worth, and you may learn something along the way. (Honk if you learned something today!)

Get on the fast track to earning your Library Smarts Micro-Credential! (not a real credential)

Library Collection Intro in Detail

"Must-sees" for the Advanced Library Smarts Micro-Credential!

Market Area Facts... at the tips of your fingers

Gather political, economic, social, environmental data and intelligence on the world's market stages using the online library collections.

Company Information Sources

Take a virtual tour of the library's company information sources.

Industry Information Sources

You guessed it! A title that needs no introduction...

Introducing the Virtual Book Shelf

Demand-Driven Supply Chain Management : Transformational Performance Improvement by Eagle, Simon
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780749479978
Publication Date: 2017
"Demand-Driven Supply Chain Management is the go-to source for industry supply chain/operations executives and students. It describes the'what, how and why'of the demand-driven SCM process. The key themes in the book are: what is demand-driven? why is demand-driven so effective? how to operate a demand-driven supply chain? and how to adopt the demand-driven process in your company? Readers can quickly grasp the essential concepts from one of numerous self-contained sections that present the book's key concepts from different perspectives." - Publisher
Supply Chain Ethics : Using CSR and Sustainability to Create Competitive Advantage by John Manners-Bell
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780749479459
Publication Date: 2017
"It is increasingly clear that traditional supply chains which focus on sourcing products from the lowest possible cost suppliers are failing to exploit their full potential. Supply Chain Ethics, through case studies, surveys and unique research, identifies and outlines best practice employed by global manufacturers, retailers and logistics companies. It examines the so-called 'triple advantage' that accrues to businesses when strategies that combine bottom line profits, sustainable environmental practices and positive societal impact are employed. Narrow supply chain strategies which focus on only one of these three factors will inevitably fail. Supply Chain Ethics covers the following issues which affect senior supply chain, operations and manufacturing managers: 'triple advantage' best practice and how it can create value for global businesses; product design; sourcing and warehousing; transportation and recycling; environmental practices of logistics companies and suppliers; supply chain technologies. There is also an invaluable Ethical Supply Chains survey of top global companies." - Publisher

Detour to Company/Industry/MarketArea/Demographic Info

If you are looking for information sources describing company data, industry information, and market area facts, there is a guide just for you!

Business Analysis: information sources

Grab & Go: Articles!

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

ABI/INFORM Collection

CBCA Complete

Sage Premier

Business Insights Global

LexisNexis Academic

Academic Search Premier

Research Library

Title Searching Made Easy

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report! With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: J ournal Search. This tool directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) they resides in!

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: Supply Chain Pulse... shows up in few places, including here!

You may want to practice with a few of these titles!

Supply Chain Management

Journal of Humanitarian Logistics and Supply Chain Management

Journal of Supply Chain Management

Supply Chain Forum

Supply Chain Management

Supply Chain Management Review

Supply Chain Pulse

Research Campsite!

The purpose of this guide is to provide a "toe-dip" into the library's collections as they pertain to Supply Chain Management students. If you want to drop deeper into the bottomless pit of research, check out these other two guides:

Fundamentals of Business & Business 119

Business 733/333

While these guides are "for" these courses, their real purpose is to open up the library to students in new ways, covering journal and magazine discovery and evaluation, search strategies, along with navigating the streamed audio-visual experiences, and giving a little head-space to APA.

The long and winding road!

Delivering customer value through procurement and strategic sourcing : a professional guide to creating a sustainable supply network by Walter L. Wallace
Call Number: HD38.5 .W355
ISBN: 0133889823
Publication Date: 2015
"This is the complete executive's guide to driving sustainable competitive advantage and mitigating risk in today's complex supply networks. Two of the field's leading consultants show senior managers how to apply advanced strategic sourcing to significantly improve your supply chain's efficiency, effectiveness, and sustainability." - Publisher
Global supply chain security and management : appraising programs, preventing crimes by Darren Prokop
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780128008201
Publication Date: 2017
"This book examines the relationship between securing a supply chain and promoting more efficient worldwide trade. Historically, the primary goal of supply chain security was guarding against theft and damage. Today, supply chains are also on the front lines in the fight against terrorism." - Publisher
Mastering import & export management by Thomas A. Cook
Call Number: HF1414.4 .C665
ISBN: 9780814438206
Publication Date: 2017
"Filled with step-by-step instructions, cost-effective strategies, and ready-to-use forms, this third edition of Mastering Import Export Management walks you through every key area-from handling logistics to building a global team to complying with post-9/11 security measures to clearly documenting shipments using Incoterms. Completely updated, the guide simplifies the latest regulations and gathers best practices in an evolving field, including: Strategies for reducing risk and spend in global supply chains * New documentation, operations, and procedures * Trade compliance SOPs * Guidance on managing transportation service providers * E-commerce in international trade For managers and operating personnel with the knowledge and tools to overcome challenges, the world of exporting and importing offers lucrative new frontiers." - Publisher
Warehouse management : a complete guide to improving efficiency and minimizing costs in the modern warehouse by Gwynne Richards
Call Number: HF5485 .R53
ISBN: 9780749479787
Publication Date: 2018
"Warehouse Management provides a complete guide to best practice in warehouse operations. Covering everything from the latest technological advances to current environmental issues, this book provides a valuable companion to the modern warehouse. The text considers the many aspects of warehouse management, including cost reduction, productivity, people management, performance management, outsourcing, resourcing and costing a warehouse, the role of the warehouse and its manager, equipment, storage systems and health and safety." - Publisher

Be a positive link in the chain!

Supply Chain Canada
Our vision is to ensure Canadian supply chain professionals and organizations are recognized for leading innovation, global competitiveness, and driving economic growth.
Supply Chain Management Association Ontario
Supply Chain Management Association Ontario (SCMAO) is one of Canada’s largest communities for supply chain professionals, with over *4,000 members and a broader community of 10,000+ supply chain professionals. Anchored by a legacy of 35 years and fuelled by a vision that has the future of supply chain at its core, the rebranded SCMAO is committed to strengthening the supply chain network, which embodies end to end supply chain and its key functions.

Career Info!

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!