Library Guides: Fashion Business & Management: Start Here

What it all might mean... Watch and Discover!

Why We Wear Clothes: The Functions of Fashion
"As a tool of the individual and of culture, clothing has meaning. In this program, students explore the functional, social, and psychological aspects of clothing. Viewers learn how clothing provides more than just protection from the elements; it offers comfort, helps us to fit in with our peer group, and encourages us to follow trends. The right clothes can boost our self-image and confidence, too. We examine the fashion industry, as well as the influential role that marketing and advertising play in our daily decision of what to wear." - Publisher

How do I use this library thing?

If you like watching stuff, than you are in luck, because I have created a fabulous audio and visual experience just for you! While it may not have the same look and feel as the movie theatre experience, you will definitely get your money's worth, and you may learn something along the way. (Honk if you learned something today!)

Get on the fast track to earning your Library Smarts Micro-Credential! (not a real credential)

Library Collection Intro in Detail

"Must-sees" for the Advanced Library Smarts Micro-Credential!

Market Area Facts... at the tips of your fingers

Gather political, economic, social, environmental data and intelligence on the world's market stages using the online library collections.

Company Information Sources

Take a virtual tour of the library's company information sources.

Industry Information Sources

You guessed it! A title that needs no introduction...

Virtual Book Shelf... Check Box!

Artificial intelligence for fashion : how AI is revolutionizing the fashion industry by Luce, Leanne
Call Number: E-Book + HD9940 .A2 L83
ISBN: 9781484239308
Publication Date: 2019
"Learn how Artificial Intelligence (AI) is being applied in the fashion industry. With an application focused approach, this book provides real-world examples, breaks down technical jargon for non-technical readers, and provides an educational resource for fashion professionals. The book investigates the ways in which AI is impacting every part of the fashion value chain starting with product discovery and working backwards to manufacturing. Artificial Intelligence for Fashion walks you through concepts, such as connected retail, data mining, and artificially intelligent robotics." - Publisher
Fashion Industry 2030 : Reshaping the Future Through Sustainability and Responsible Innovation by Rinaldi, Francesca Romana
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9788885486959
Publication Date: 2019
"Some key data about the future of the fashion industry highlight the need for immediate action. The increase of clothing consumption will generate an increase in the use of resources and generation of waste. On the other hand, the demand of consumers interested in sustainability is increasing, also in luxury. The book will be investigating the key drivers that are reshaping the fashion industry towards the 4th Industrial Revolution, including traceability and transparency, circularity, collaborative consumption, new technologies, B-corporations. The Author supports the thesis that the most innovative business models in the fashion sector will be based on a value proposition that integrates ethics, aesthetics and innovation, offering product customization, planning the activities for consumer's participation in the company's operations, digitalization, and use of technology in order to optimize the processes along the value chain." - Publisher
The Trendmakers : behind the scenes of the global fashion industry by Jenny Lantz
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781474259781
Publication Date: 2016
"Numerous tastemakers exist in and between fashion production and consumption, from designers and stylists to trend forecasters, buyers, and journalists. How and why are each of these players bound up in the creation and dispersion of trends? In what ways are consumers'relations to trends constructed by these individuals and organizations? This book explores the social significance of trends in the global fashion industry through interviews with these'fashion intermediaries', offering new insights into their influential roles in the setting and shaping of trends. The Trendmakers contains exclusive interviews with financial analysts, creative directors from high street stores like H&M to designer brands such as Erdem, trend forecasters at WGSN, buyers from Harvey Nichols, and major fashion names like The Telegraph fashion critic Hilary Alexander. In contrast to existing research, Lantz offers an international understanding of the trend landscape, engaging with industry professionals from fashion capitals like London, Paris, and New York, as well as BRIC countries and the new, emerging fashion nations. The fashion media may have declared that'trends are dead'in the light of digital dissemination, but Lantz argues that trends still not only serve as a significant organizing principle for the fashion industry as a whole but also as a source for legitimacy. Engaging with classic fashion thinkers like Veblen, Simmel, and Bourdieu, as well as contemporary scholars like Entwistle and Steele, this book considers trends from an economic and cultural perspective to add to our knowledge of the complexities of the business of fashion." - Publisher

Stepping in it... the library's collections that is!

If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.

ProTip: Everything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca

You can activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.

If you think of the Internet as a pile of stuff, the library, on the other hand, is a collection. We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success. The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the name of the information resource(s) you need.

There are several points of entry into the collections: Keywords box (Search for Databases), A-Z list, and the School List filter (All Subjects).

ProTip: The Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, an information resource. It is not designed to search within the collection. Even if you are unsure of the complete database name, try representative keywords, such as "Business." You probably won't be disappointed!

Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!

Not sure what's inside a collection (database)? Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:

Business Source Complete

Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research...

Working off-campus, you may be asked to login. Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.

Next box...

What's in your article closet?

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

ABI/INFORM Collection

CBCA Complete

Sage Premier

Business Insights Global

Euromonitor Passport

LexisNexis Academic

Statista

Academic Search Premier

Research Library

Fashion forward Journal search

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report! With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: J ournal Search. This tool directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) they resides in!

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: Fashion Magazine... shows up here!

You may want to practice with a few of these titles!

Fashion Business & Management

Fashion

Fashion and Textiles

Fashion Theory

Journal of Fashion Marketing and Management

Textile World

Women's Wear Daily

Threading the needle!

The art of digital marketing for fashion and luxury brands: market spaces and marketplaces by Ozuem, Wilson
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9783030703233
Publication Date: 2021
"This book explores omnichannel fashion and luxury retailing with a particular emphasis on the role of computer-mediated marketing environments in determining a consumer's purchase and post-purchase trajectories." - Publisher
Costing for the fashion industry by Evans, Nathalie
Call Number: HF5686 .C44 E83
ISBN: 9781350078895
Publication Date: 2020
"A practical, easy-to-use introduction to costing for the fashion industry for general fashion students who lack any accounting experience." - Publisher
Electronics in textiles and clothing : design, products and applications by L. Ashok Kumar
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781498715508
Publication Date: 2016
"This book covers the fundamentals of electronics and their applications in textiles and clothing product development. The book emphasizes the interface between electronics and textile materials, detailing diverse methods and techniques used in industrial practice. It explores ways to integrate textile materials with electronics for communicating/signal transferring applications. It also discusses wearable electronic products for industrial applications based on functional properties and end users in sectors such as defense, medicine, health monitoring, and security." - Publisher
Global perspectives on sustainable fashion by Gwilt, Alison
Call Number: TT497 .G55
ISBN: 9781350058132
Publication Date: 2019
"Global Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion showcases the global fashion industry's efforts to reduce the negative impacts associated with fashion production and consumption. Illustrated throughout with infographics, photographs and diagrams of creative works, eighteen essays focus on six regions, examining sustainable fashion in the context of local, cultural and environmental concerns." - Publisher
Scraps : fashion, textiles, and creative reuse by Susan Brown
Call Number: TT507 .B693
ISBN: 9781942303176
Publication Date: 2016
"The textile and fashion industries produce millions of tons of solid waste every year through the many processes used--from yarn production, weaving, knitting, dyeing and finishing, to apparel construction, quality inspection and unsold goods--generating waste at each step. Typically, this waste is sent to landfills, incinerated or, at best, recycled into low-quality fibers used for industrial applications. Scraps, published for Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum’s exhibition of the same name, presents three designers’ alternative approaches to the shockingly high human and environmental costs of textile industry waste." - Publisher
Street style : an ethnography of fashion blogging by Brent Adam Luvaas
Call Number: TT503.5 .L88
ISBN: 9780857855756
Publication Date: 2020
"Street style blogging has experienced a meteoric rise in popularity over the last decade. Amateur photographers, often with no formal training in fashion, have become critical arbiters of taste and trends, influencing the representations that appear in magazines and on runways, and putting new cities on the fashion world map. This cutting-edge book documents the evolution of street style photography, from the fieldwork photos of early anthropology to the glamorized snapshots that appear on blogs today, and explores the structural shifts in the global fashion industry that street style has helped bring about." - Publisher

Making connections!

Advanced Textiles Association - Canada
The purpose of ATA Canada is to promote the welfare of the Canadian industrial textile industry, to improve the status of the association members in the community and to benefit the users of Canadian industrial textile products. Members include manufacturers and suppliers of industrial textile products, goods or services for the industrial fabrics industry in Canada.
Canadian Apparel Federation
The Canadian Apparel Federation works to ensure that the industry's interests are taken into account. We lobby on issues such as internationals trade, tariffs, competition policy and product safety plus a wide range of other issues.
Fashion Takes Action
Fashion Takes Action is Canada’s first non-profit fashion industry organization, established in 2007 focused on sustainability, ethics and circularity. We work with industry and consumers, with the goal to shift behaviour toward more positive social and environmental impacts.

Before, and...

Fashion industry and its careers by Michele Granger
Call Number: TT507 .G68
ISBN: 9781501339004
Publication Date: 2020
"Learn about what to expect on the job, required education and training, and the relationship of the role to the fashion industry as a whole. Among the more than 75 role descriptions are four new roles for Sustainability Officer, Transparency Officer, Data Analyst, and Reference Librarian. More than 175 images show you recent developments affecting the industry sectors and career opportunities." - Publisher
Guide to fashion career planning : job search, résumés, and strategies for success by V. Ann Paulins
Call Number: TT507 .P357
ISBN: 9781501314643
Publication Date: 2016
"This book helps both students and individuals interested in entering the fashion industry prepare for successful careers – from self-assessment and goal setting to landing the first job. This book presents a seamless and comprehensive approach to everything needed for professional and career development, including résumé writing, interviewing, job search strategies, internships, and portfolios for fashion design, merchandising or retail careers." - Publisher
Making it in Manhattan : the beginner's guide to surviving & thriving in the world of fashion by Vazzana, Caroline
Call Number: TT515 .V39
ISBN: 9781510732025
Publication Date: 2018
"From a young age, Caroline Vazzana knew the fashion industry was where she belonged- but gaining access to the glamorous and mysterious world of fashion in the city that never sleeps takes countless hours of hard work and dedication. After making it in some of fashion's biggest publications, Caroline's finally pulling back the curtain and telling her secrets to help you stand out from the crowd and land the job of your dreams." - Publisher
Style wise: a practical guide to becoming a fashion stylist by Burns-Tran, Shannon
Call Number: TT507 .B835
ISBN: 9781501323768
Publication Date: 2018
"Style Wise: A Practical Guide to Becoming a Fashion Stylist is an essential step-by-step guide and reference tool for anyone interested or involved in professional styling. The book paints a realistic picture of the day-to-day activities of professional stylists and provides aspiring stylists with the tools and information needed to begin building a portfolio. Topics covered include photo shoots, film shoots, fashion shows, special events, and other areas such as image management and food, prop, and set styling." - Publisher

Career Info!

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!