Skip to main content

Event Management

for library assistance contact me directly at rsims@centennialcollege.ca

Let the games begin!

Grab and Go!

Event Marketing

By Diego Rinallo

"What is the role of events in the marketing communication mix? What goals can be legitimately attributed to events? How to use events to deliver memorable experiences? How to measure event results and maximize returns on investments? How to deal effectively with event agencies? Readers will find hands-on answers to all these questions in this book, written bearing in mind the knowledge needs of companies that want to employ events as part of their marketing communication mix."

 

Mega-events and Social Change: Spectacle, Legacy and Public Culture

By Maurice Roche

"This book is concerned with contemporary mega-events, like the Olympics and Expos. Using a sociological perspective Roche argues that mega-events reflect the major social changes which now influence our societies, particularly in the West, and that these amount to a new 'second phase' of the modernization process. Changes are particularly visible in the media, urban and global locational aspects of mega-events. Thus he suggests that contemporary mega-events, both in their achievements and their vulnerabilities, reflect, in the media sphere, the rise of the internet; in the urban sphere, de-industrialisation and the growing ecological crisis; and in the global sphere, the relative decline of the West and the rise of China and other 'emerging' countries. The book investigates the ways in which contemporary mega-events reflect, but also mark and influence, social changes in each of these three contexts."

 

Circus Maximus: The Economic Gamble Behind Hosting the Olympics and the World Cup

By Andrew S. Zimbalist

"Both the Olympics and the World Cup are touted as major economic boons for the countries that host them, and the competition is fierce to win hosting rights. Developing countries especially see the events as a chance to stand in the world's spotlight. Circus Maximus traces the path of the Olympic Games and the World Cup from noble sporting events to exhibits of excess. It exposes the hollowness of the claims made by their private industry boosters and government supporters, all illustrated through a series of case studies ripping open the experiences of Barcelona, Sochi, Rio, and London."

Stepping in to the library's collections

If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.

ProTipEverything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca

 

Its time to activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.

If you think of the Internet as a pile, the library, on the other hand, is a collection.  We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success.  The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the resource(s) you need. 

There are several points of entry into the collections: Search Keywords box, A-Z list, Media Type filter, and the School List filter.

ProTip: The Search Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, a resource.  It is not designed to search within the collection.

 

Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!

Not sure what's inside a collection (database)?  Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:

Business Source Complete

Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.  Includes full text of the Harvard Business Review, and Datamonitor country, company, and industry reports.

 

Working off-campus, you may be asked to login.  Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.

Next box...

The article's the thing

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

 

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

Sage Premier

Taylor & Francis eJournals

Research Library

Academic Search Premier

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

Title Searching at your finger tips!

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report!  With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: Full Text Journals.  This tool, located on the library's homepage, below the Library Guides link, directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) it resides in.

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: Take a leisurely walk through the issues of the Cornell Hospitality Quarterly

 

Have a look at these:

Event Planning

International Journal of Event and Festival Management

International Journal of Sports Marketing & Sponsorship

Journal of Convention & Event Tourism

Special Events Magazine

Going Deep, into the scary depths of Research

The purpose of this guide is to provide a "toe-dip" into the library's collections as they pertain to Event Management students.  If you want to walk deeper into the forbidden caverns of research, check out this other guide:

Food Theory HOSP105 & Theory of Food COOK105

While this guide is "for" these courses, its real purpose is to open up the library to student in new ways, covering journal and magazine discovery and evaluation, search strategies, along with navigating the streamed audio-visual experiences.

We have a book for that!

with a twist...

Get in the loop!

Before, and...

Career Info

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!

chat loading...