Skip to main content

Hospitality & Culinary Arts

for library assistance contact me directly at rsims@centennialcollege.ca

And plate this!

And that!

Exploring the text, online.

Building a Meal: From Molecular Gastronomy to Culinary Constructivism

By Herve This

"An internationally renowned chemist, and bestselling author, Hervé This heads the first laboratory devoted to molecular gastronomy the scientific exploration of cooking and eating. By testing recipes that have guided cooks for centuries, and the various dictums and maxims on which they depend, Hervé This unites the head with the hand in order to defend and transform culinary practice."

 

At the Chef's Table: Culinary Creativity in Elite Restaurants

By Vanina Leschziner

"This book is about the creative work of chefs at top restaurants in New York and San Francisco. Based on interviews with chefs and observation in restaurant kitchens, the book explores the question of how and why chefs make choices about the dishes they put on their menus. It answers this question by examining a whole range of areas, including chefs' careers, restaurant ratings and reviews, social networks, how chefs think about food and go about creating new dishes, and how status influences their work and careers."

 

Asian Flavours: Creating Architecture for Culinary Culture

By Christian Schittich

"Ceremonies, rituals und traditions – as well as the fascinating combinations of flavours and unusual ingredients, the customs of Asian countries also arouse great interest in Western cultures. But how are spaces for Asian eating and cooking traditions and processes designed? What kind of surroundings are these kinds of food and drinks consumed in? This book presents the projects of Asian and European architects on both continents, ranging from tea houses and sake bars through to entire restaurants. How are architects adapting and interpreting this cuisine in our latitudes? How do they respond to the conditions and cultures in these spaces without simply simulating an Asian decor? Enhanced with selected recipes from individual restaurants and essays on various Asian cuisines and culinary cultures, the book is also a travel guide to Europe's many special Asiatic spaces."

Stepping in to the library's collections

If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.

ProTipEverything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca

 

It's time to activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.

If you think of the Internet as a pile, the library, on the other hand, is a collection.  We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success.  The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the resource(s) you need. 

There are several points of entry into the collections: Search Keywords box, A-Z list, Media Type filter, and the School List filter.

ProTip: The Search Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, a resource.  It is not designed to search within the collection.

 

Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!

Not sure what's inside a collection (database)?  Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:

Business Source Complete

Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.  Includes full text of the Harvard Business Review, and Datamonitor country, company, and industry reports.

 

Working off-campus, you may be asked to login.  Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.

Next box...

Fast track to the article you always wanted!

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

 

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

Sage Premier

Taylor & Francis eJournals

Research Library

Academic Search Premier

Culinary Arts Collection

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

Turning up the heat, with Title Searching

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report!  With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: Full Text Journals.  This tool, located on the library's homepage, below the Library Guides link, directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) it resides in.

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: Take a leisurely walk through the issues of the Cornell Hospitality Quarterly

 

Have a look at these:

Culinary Arts

Bon Appetit

Journal of Culinary Science & Technology

Journal of Food Quality

 

Hospitality

Cornell Hospitality Quarterly

International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management

Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Research

Journal of Hospitality Marketing and Management

Journal of Service Management

Going Deep, into the Web of Research

The purpose of this guide is to provide a "toe-dip" into the library's collections as they pertain to Hospitality and Culinary Arts students.  If you want to walk deeper into the cave of research, check out this other guide:

Food Theory HOSP105 & Theory of Food COOK105

While this guide is "for" these courses, its real purpose is to open up the library to student in new ways, covering journal and magazine discovery and evaluation, search strategies, along with navigating the streamed audio-visual experiences.

Time to separate the wheat from the chaff!

To die for!

The customer is always right... well sometimes!

Get in the Loop!

Before

and After...

Career Info

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!

chat loading...