Full text books in all subject areas for reading online. Some books can be downloaded for offline use. Includes Cliffs Notes.
Only one reader is allowed per book, for both online browsing and offline checkout. Users must create an EBSCO account for offline checkout. Instructions for downloading e-books can be found at http://support.ebsco.com/ebooks.
Art of . . . . seriesSeries showcasing artwork from the creation of Disney/Pixar Animations' latest releases. The artwork in these behind-the-scenes books include character designs, storyboards, colorscripts, and much more. Click on the link to see all titles in this series.
Essential Skills in Character Rigging by Nicholas B. ZemanCharacter rigging is the method with which you create a system for animating a character. A rig is represented by two primary mechanics: the skeleton, consisting of hierarchical rotations to drive the motions, and a skin, or method of deforming the geometry that makes up the character model. Essential Skills in Character Rigging is a beginner's guide to learning and understanding the essential aspects of character setup, evaluation, skeletal construction, and deformation. Borrowing from the author's extensive experience in the field, it presents the primary theories, constructs, and objectives for constructing a basic rig from the ground up, just as it would be done in a professional studio. The book explains the basic elements of hierarchies, skeletons, kinematics, deformation, skinning, and creating relationships between nodes. It gives hands-on experience with taking a completed character model and setting it up with a skeleton with kinematics and soft-skin deformation. It also gives specific instructions on using inverse kinematics systems, and how to set up the essential mechanics of a human rig with these systems. All of these lessons are conducted using a simplistic, conversational style that keeps technical and mathematical jargon to a minimum. The book also includes video tutorials corresponding to specific modules. Essential Skills in Character Rigging takes aspiring character artists through the vital components in the process of taking a 3D character model and turning it into an animatable rig that is ready for production in film or games. It identifies the universal fundamentals at work behind character rigging, and the practical complexities of the process are broken down into simple steps that are easy to comprehend and execute.
Publication Date: 2015-10-22
Ideas for the Animated Short by Karen Sullivan; Kate Alexander; Ellen Besen; Aubry MintzEditor's note: there has been an issue with the book's companion site. Focal Press is fixing the issue. In the meanwhile, please visit http://www.routledge.com/cw/sullivan-978024081872/ for all the material promised in the book. From demo reel creation to festival shorts, students and professionals alike are creating animated shorts that are dynamic and eye catching but the time constraints of these shorts are challenging in their own right. The unique format of the animated short of two to five minutes in length presents a practical and aesthetic challenge that is rarely addressed in the classroom. Ideas for the Animated Shortis a comprehensive and practical blueprint for creative and unique animated short creation with a focus on the strength of a compelling story. A comprehensive guide to the animated short, this title is an invaluable asset for aspiring animation professionals, students and independent filmmakers. Explore the process of developing a short from conception to final delivery and adapt the industry's best practices in your own workflow. Written by four leading animators, artists and professors, Ideas for the Animated Shortis written from the unique perspective of a professional animator adapting creative stories into incredible animated shorts. Follow from start to finish the creation of an animated short from the pre-production thought process to story development and character design. Explore the best practices and avoid the common pitfalls of creating two to five minute shorts. Watch a specially created animated short, demonstrating the core techniques and principles at the companion website! Packed with illustrated examples of idea generation, character and story development, acting, dialogue and storyboarding practice this is your conceptual toolkit proven to meet the challenges of this unique art form. The companion website includes in-depth interviews with industry insiders, short animations (many with accompanying animatics, character designs and environment designs) and an acting workshop to get your animated short off to a flying start! With all NEW content on script writing, acting, sound design and visual storytelling that further enhance your animated shorts and apply the industry best practices to your own projects.
Publication Date: 2013-03-11
The Anime Ecology: a Genealogy of Television, Animation, and Game Media by Thomas LamarreA major work destined to change how scholars and students look at television and animation With the release of author Thomas Lamarre's field-defining study The Anime Machine, critics established Lamarre as a leading voice in the field of Japanese animation. He now returns with The Anime Ecology, broadening his insights to give a complete account of anime's relationship to television while placing it within important historical and global frameworks. Lamarre takes advantage of the overlaps between television, anime, and new media--from console games and video to iOS games and streaming--to show how animation helps us think through television in the contemporary moment. He offers remarkable close readings of individual anime while demonstrating how infrastructures and platforms have transformed anime into emergent media (such as social media and transmedia) and launched it worldwide. Thoughtful, thorough illustrations plus exhaustive research and an impressive scope make The Anime Ecology at once an essential reference book, a valuable resource for scholars, and a foundational textbook for students.
Publication Date: 2018-03-13
3D Art Essentials: The Fundamentals of 3D Modeling, Texturing, and Animation by Ami ChopineCreate high-quality 3D animations and models by using the basic concepts and principles of 3D art presented by GeekAtPlay.com's Ami Chopine. This handy studio reference breaks down the core concepts into easy-to-understand segments and teaches you the 'why' in addition to the 'how.' Using application agnostic step-by-step tutorials, this book teaches you how to model, pose, and texture your creations as well as scenery creation, animation, and rendering. Learn which applications are best for your needs and how you can get started making money in the 3D field. The companion website includes video tutorials, models, project files, and other resources. This book is endorsed by Daz3d.com and includes exclusive Daz3d models.
Publication Date: 2011-03-23
Canadian Animation: Looking for a Place to Happen by Chris RobinsonWriter Chris Robinson travels across Canada to meet with some of the country's leading independent animation filmmakers. Along the way, he muses about animation art in Canada and his own relationship to the scene--many personalities featured are friends and colleagues. He carries along his personal struggles with insomnia, depression, identity, cab drivers, hobos and nobos, and the shocking murder of animator Helen Hill, whose life and work embody many of the themes that color Robinson's conversations with animators. With the intimate detail of a diary, Canadian Animation weaves together history, memoir, and dream into a mesmerizing and candid portrait of animation, art, doing, drifting, and dying. The cast of this lavishly illustrated book includes award-winning animators Marv Newland, Chris Landreth, Chris Hinton, David Fine, Wendy Tilby, and Anne-Marie Fleming.
Call Number: NC1766.C3R63
Publication Date: 2008-12-17
Character Animation Fundamentals by Steve RobertsExpand your animation toolkit and remain competitive in the industry with this leading resource for 2D and 3D character animation techniques. Apply the industry's best practices to your own workflows and develop 2D, 3D and hybrid characters with ease. With side by side comparisons of 2D and 3D character design, improve your character animation and master traditional principles and processes including weight and balance, timing and walks. Develop characters inspired by humans, birds, fish, snakes and four legged animals. Breathe life into your character and develop a characters personality with chapters on acting, voice-synching and facial expressions. Expertly integrate core animation techniques with your software of choice featuring step-by-step tutorials, highlighting 3ds Max, Maya and Blender workflows. Adapt the tips, tricks and techniques for unique projects like character design for rotoscoping and motion capture. Advance beyond the fundamentals of 2D and 3D character animation with the companion website which includes short demonstration movies, 2D and 3D exercises and fully rigged character models.