send me a quick email, and you could win a prize!
If you like watching stuff, than you are in luck, because I have created a fabulous audio and visual experience just for you! While it may not have the same look and feel as the movie theatre experience, you will definitely get your money's worth, and you may learn something along the way. (Honk if you learned something!)
Get on the fast track to earning your Library Smarts Micro-Credential!
If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.
ProTip: Everything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca
It's time to activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.
If you think of the Internet as a pile, the library, on the other hand, is a collection. We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success. The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the name of the resource(s) you need.
There are several points of entry into the collections: Search Keywords box, A-Z list, Media Type filter, and the School List filter.
ProTip: The Search Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, a resource. It is not designed to search within the collection.
Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!
Not sure what's inside a collection (database)? Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:
Business Source Complete
Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. Includes full text of the Harvard Business Review, and Datamonitor country, company, and industry reports.
Working off-campus, you may be asked to login. Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.
Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.
(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)
You can explore the magic of these selected collections:
Business Source Complete
Taylor & Francis eJournals
Academic Search Premier
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report! With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?
The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: Full Text Journals. This tool, located on the library's homepage, below the Library Guides link, directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) it resides in.
Try it, and see for yourself.
Example: Take a leisurely walk through the issues of the Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Research
►career exploration resources
►resume and cover letter advice
►career search guidance...
Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)
And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!