Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Resources

for library assistance contact me directly at rsims@centennialcollege.ca

Putting the Humane back in Human

Meet the Virtual Book Shelf!

From Hello to Goodbye: Proactive Tips for Maintaining Positive Employee Relations

By Christine V. Walters

"Evaluating the complete employment relationship in reverse--from departure through hire— From Hello to Goodbye is the HR professional's complete guide to understanding the various ways business relationships end, managing disability and leave issues, properly classifying workers, maintaining an inclusive workplace, increasing retention, and avoiding litigation."

 

Intrinsic Motivation at Work: What Really Drives Employee Engagement

By Kenneth Wayne Thomas

"Kenneth Thomas draws on the latest research findings to identify the key to employee engagement: intrinsic motivation. Only intrinsic rewards—rewards that come directly from the work itself—encourage the profound commitment and sense of ownership needed for a truly engaged and innovative workforce. Thomas identifies four intrinsic rewards, explains exactly how and why they build engagement and provides a diagnostic framework to evaluate which need boosting and how to boost them."

Stepping in to the Library's Collections

If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.

ProTip: Everything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca

 

It's time to activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.

If you think of the Internet as a pile, the library, on the other hand, is a collection.  We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success.  The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the name of the resource(s) you need. 

There are several points of entry into the collections: Search Keywords box, A-Z list, Media Type filter, and the School List filter.

ProTip: The Search Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, a resource.  It is not designed to search within the collection.

 

Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!

Not sure what's inside a collection (database)?  Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:

Business Source Complete

Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.  Includes full text of the Harvard Business Review, and Datamonitor country, company, and industry reports.

 

Working off-campus, you may be asked to login.  Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.

Next box...

Article Search 101

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

 

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

ABI/INFORM Collection

CBCA Complete

Sage Premier

Academic Search Premier

Research Library

Title Searching for you!

From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report!  With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?

The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: Full Text Journals.  This tool, located on the library's homepage, below the Library Guides link, directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) it resides in.

Try it, and see for yourself.

Example: MIT Sloan Management Review... shows up in few places, including here!

 

You may want to practice with a few of these titles!

Human Resources

Canadian HR Reporter

Industrial and Labor Relations Review

International Journal of Management and Human Resources

Journal of Human Resources

Organization Science

Personnel Psychology

Research in Organizational Behavior

Work, Aging and Retirement

Go Deep into the Research Jungle!

The purpose of this guide is to provide a "toe-dip" into the library's collections as they pertain to Human Resources students.  If you want to drop deeper into the bottomless pit of research, check out these other two guides:

Fundamentals of Business & Business 119

Business 733/333

While these guides are "for" these courses, their real purpose is to open up the library to students in new ways, covering journal and magazine discovery and evaluation, search strategies, along with navigating the streamed audio-visual experiences, and giving a little head-space to APA.

Taking your knowledge beyond the textbook!

Fitting in with the pros!

After Graduation

Put your HR knowledge to good use and get that job!

Career Info

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!

chat loading...