Library Guides: ARBW307 Technical Writing for Architecture Technology: Articles

eResources

The collections below are strong for articles about architecture, construction, and business.

Home Improvement Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 180 home-improvement titles on architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more.
Environmental Studies in Context (GREENR) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies, the environment and sustainability.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General academic database covers social sciences, humanities, pure and applied science, education, and multi-cultural studies. Full-text and peer-reviewed content.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.
Includes full text of Harvard Business Review, and Datamonitor country and industry reports.
Films on Demand: Technical Education This link opens in a new window
Includes online videos on automotive technology, building and technical trades, engineering technology, and technical communication topics.

Journals

Images

Many library databases have images that you can use in class presentations.

You may also email the images to yourself and use the citation for your reference list.

Try the following to search for images:

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Image database featuring images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million copyright-cleared images including photographs, graphics, and icons.
Students can use these professionally-produced images for projects, course work, web pages, and college publications. Instructors can quickly find images for course development, faculty research, lesson plans, and classroom activities.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text reference books, including dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks. Covers all subjects

Free image sources
A list of free and open image sites.

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Encompassing inquiry, discovery, and flexibility, searching identifies both possible relevant sources and how to access those sources. Searching is a contextualized, complex experience that affects, and is affected by, the cognitive, affective, and social dimensions of the searcher.

Reflect on search process in order to refine the search and persist regardless of challenges encountered.
Search strategically using keywords or controlled vocabulary and considering and selecting systems to search
Identify how the information systems are organized in order to retrieve relevant information.