Library Guides: Addiction and Mental Health Worker : Books & eBooks

Background Information

A-Z of Substance Misuse and Drug Addiction
Encyclopedia of current research and debates in addictions policy and practice.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text reference books, including dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks. Covers all subjects
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for all subjects.
Behavioral and Mental Health Online This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than 2,500 videos and almost 3,500 books, documents and transcripts. The content includes clinical mental health demonstrations, video of real clinical mental health sessions, the largest amount of DSM-5®/ICD-10 video content, documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, client narratives, reference works, clinical mental health textbooks and workbooks, psychological experiments and more.

A Critical Introduction to DSM by Greg Murray
A series of critical review essays focusing on categorization and diagnostic issues related to the currently recognized disorders in DSM.
Tackling Addiction by Rowdy Yates (Ed.).
This edited collection brings together the thoughts and experiences of researchers, practitioners and service users from the fields of health, addiction and criminal justice and centres on current developments in addiction policy and practice.
Addictions Counseling by Dianne Doyle Pita
Topics include the counselor's role in recovery, treatment approaches, and sample treatment plans.
Addiction Treatment by Sandra Rasmussen
A foundation for addiction practice by health and social services professionals.
Ethics for Addiction Professionals by Jennifer D. Berton
Guidance for addiction counselors in understanding and applying ethical standards. Practical guide examines real-life examples of ethical issues in clinical practice and illustrates potential pitfalls and the actions needed when faced with dilemmas.
Fundamentals of addiction: A practical guide for counsellors (2014) by Herie, M. & Skinner, W. W.
An essential reference for counsellors and a comprehensive textbook for college and university level students in courses that address addictions.