provides practical help and guidance to anyone undertaking academic or social research, whether through work or study. It is ideal for undergraduate and postgraduate students undertaking dissertations and other research projects.
The product of a lifetime of experience in American universities, The Scholar's Survival Manual offers advice for students, professors, and administrators on how to get work done, the path to becoming a professor, getting tenured, and making visible contributions to scholarship, as well as serving on promotion and tenure committees. Martin H. Krieger covers a broad cross section of the academic experience from a graduate student's first foray into the job market through retirement. Because advice is notoriously difficult to take and context matters a great deal, Krieger has allowed his ideas to percolate through dozens of discussions. Some of the advice is instrumental, matters of expediency; some demands our highest aspirations. Readers may open the book at any place and begin reading; for the more systematic there is a detailed table of contents. Krieger's tone is direct, an approach born of the knowledge that students and professors too often ignore suggestions that would have prevented them from becoming academic roadkill. This essential book will help readers sidestep a similar fate.
This engaging book not only offers step-by-step guidance on planning, writing, and defending a dissertation but also helps create a beginning-to-end process that is meaningful, rewarding, and exciting.
Search within eBook collections avaialble from Centennial College Libraries:
Full text books in all subject areas for reading online. Some books can be downloaded for offline use. Includes Cliffs Notes.
Only one reader is allowed per book, for both online browsing and offline checkout. Users must create an EBSCO account for offline checkout. Instructions for downloading e-books can be found at http://support.ebsco.com/ebooks.
Full-text references, updates and graphics of eight textbooks in the areas of medicine, nursing and pharmacology.
The titles available are: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott’s Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses’ Guide to Clinical Procedures and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation.
Access the full-text to more than 4.5 million documents, including 192 IEEE publications, 30+ IET journals and 25 conference titles, 1700+ proceedings from IEEE and IET conferences, IEEE standards, and INSPEC abstract and citation records.