Skip to Main Content

Writing Your Assignment

Information and resources for completing written assignments including essays, annotated bibliographies, literature reviews and more.

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of publications on a topic.

There are 2 parts of each entry:

  1. Reference: in APA or MLA style, arranged alphabetically.
  2. Annotation: Concise summary of each source including an evaluation of its value or relevance to the topic.

Annotated Bibliography: Example Entry

Cox. E.O. (2007). Strengthening the late-life care process: Effects of two forms of a care-receiver efficacy intervention. The Gerontologist 47(3), 388-397.

                      The author focuses on ways to improve the cognitive ability of seniors so that they can be as independent as possible. Two approaches were tried: one based on individual treatment, and the other on small group treatment. Results indicated that both methods produced significant effects  for relationship with caregivers, self-care, loneliness, and quality of life. Effects were strongest with the small-group treatment.

 

 

About Research Methodology

When evaluating research studies, include information about the methods used to collect and analyze the data.

Qualitative Methods

According to the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, qualitative methods yield: 

data that is not easily obtainable with the use of quantitative methods. Qualitative methods encompass a variety of methodologies, including observation, interviewing, document analysis

Quantitative Methods

According to the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, quantitative research 

uses numbers as the basis for making inferences about the phenomenon under study. The hallmarks of quantitative research are control over extraneous influences (often involving experimental manipulation) and, more generally, statistical approaches to sampling, measurement, and data analysis

Open License Statement

Writing Your Assignment by Centennial College Libraries is licensed under a CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 license unless otherwise stated.

Annotated Bibliography Template

Formatting your Annotated Bibliography

chat loading...