Moneyball : the art of winning an unfair game by 
Gender and finance: addressing inequality in the financial services industry by 
Undiversified: the big gender short in investment management by If you like watching stuff, than you are in luck, because I have created a fabulous audio and visual experience just for you! While it may not have the same look and feel as the movie theatre experience, you will definitely get your money's worth, and you may learn something along the way. (Honk if you learned something today!)
Get on the fast track to earning your Library Smarts Micro-Credential! (not a real credential)
Library Collection Intro in Detail
"Must-sees" for the Advanced Library Smarts Micro-Credential!
Market Area Facts... at the tips of your fingers
Gather political, economic, social, environmental data and intelligence on the world's market stages using the online library collections.
Take a virtual tour of the library's company information sources.
You guessed it! A title that needs no introduction...
Banking on a revolution: why financial technology won't save a broken system by 
The Financial Advisor's Success Manual : How to Structure and Grow Your Financial Services Practice by If you are looking for information sources describing company data, industry information, and market area facts, there is a guide just for you!
Business Analysis: information sources
If you somehow missed the MEGA search box (Search the Library Collections), don't worry.
ProTip: Everything begins here: library.centennialcollege.ca
You can activate Plan B, and open up the E-Resources tab.
If you think of the Internet as a pile of stuff, the library, on the other hand, is a collection. We specialize in collecting quality resources for student success. The E-Resources tab is your gateway to selecting and entering the name of the information resource(s) you need.
There are several points of entry into the collections: Keywords box (Search for Databases), A-Z list, and the School List filter (All Subjects).
ProTip: The Keywords box allows you to search for a collection, an information resource. It is not designed to search within the collection. Even if you are unsure of the complete database name, try representative keywords, such as "Business." You probably won't be disappointed!
Once you select a collection (Business Source Complete, for example) you are almost ready to work!
Not sure what's inside a collection (database)? Before opening the database, each collection comes with a short description of what you can expect to find. For example:
Business Source Complete
Full text business scholarly journals, magazines, country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research...
Working off-campus, you may be asked to login. Simple: just use your myCentennial login credentials.
Next box...
Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.
(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)
You can explore the magic of these selected collections:
Business Source Complete
ABI/INFORM Collection
CBCA Complete
Sage Premier
ScienceDirect College Edition
Business Insights Global
LexisNexis Academic
Academic Search Premier
Research Library
From time to time, a professor, here and there, may recommend a favorite journal or magazine, suggesting a title that is perfect for your research report! With over 150 discrete collections within our online library, how will you ever find it?
The short answer is to summon the magazine/journal searching tool, with the obvious name: Journal Search. This tool directly links to individual magazines/journals within our collection, no matter which database(s) they resides in!
Try it, and see for yourself.
Example: Journal of Financial Services Marketing shows up here!
You may want to practice with a few of these titles!
Finance and Financial Services
Journal of Financial Economics
Journal of Financial Services Marketing
The purpose of this guide is to provide a "toe-dip" into the library's collections as they pertain to Financial Services students. If you want to drop deeper into the bottomless pit of research, check out these other two guides:
Fundamentals of Business & Business 119
While these guides are "for" these courses, their real purpose is to open up the library to students in new ways, covering journal and magazine discovery and evaluation, search strategies, along with navigating the streamed audio-visual experiences, and giving a little head-space to APA.
Capital markets : evolution of the financial ecosystem by 
Essential advisor : building value in the investor-advisor relationship by 
Finance for normal people : how investors and markets behave by 
Investing with impact : why finance is a force for good by 
Market masters : proven investing strategies you can apply : interviews with Canada's top investors by 
The supernova multiplier: 7 strategies for financial advisors to grow their practices by 
Financial services in the Twenty-first century: the present system and future developments in fintech and financial innovation by 
Fintech with artificial intelligence, big data, and blockchain by 
Robo-advisory: investing in the digital age by 
Careers in financial services by 
Gender on Wall Street : uncovering opportunities for women in financial services by 
Heard on the street : quantitative questions from Wall Street job interviews by 
Knock Out Networking for Financial Advisors and Other Sales Producers: More Prospects, More Referrals, More Business by 
Reach the top in finance : the ambitious accountant's guide to career success by Looking for:
►career exploration resources
►resume and cover letter advice
►interviewing tips
►career search guidance...
Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)
And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!
