Community & Justice Services

Drawing contributions from across the social and behavioral sciences, including sociology, anthropology, criminology, politics, psychology, and religion, this work introduces readers to the lively field of rule-making and rebellion that strikes at the core of what it means to be an individual living in a social world.

A work of the scope and quality of this encyclopedia on a topic of major and current interest comes along infrequently. This set covers relevant aspects of some 300 topics related to substance abuse in a format that is consistent throughout...This two-volume work of 1000 pages is authoritative, easy to use, and most informative.

This volume delivers understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Featuring an easy-to-use format and written in non-technical language, the Encyclopedia includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

Exploring Criminal Justice in Canada is an engaging, accessible introduction to the field. Critical, up-to-date coverage of cutting-edge case studies, media issues, and controversies throughout the book encourage student interest and teach the down-to-earth, real-world realities of the Canadian criminal justice system. By using a solutions-based approach, students are encouraged to see where and how evidence-based practice is improving recidivism and crime rates (and where they are not). Professionals working in various jobs throughout the Canadian justice system-including victim advocacy, crime analysis, criminal defence, crown counsel, and policing-have contributed boxes in each chapter that provide insights into the career paths and experiences of working in criminal justice.

This edition provides an in-depth look at group counseling with an emphasis on practical knowledge and techniques for effective group leadership. The authors discuss the many facets of group counseling and provide examples of how each skill can be applied in a wide range of group settings to produce effective and efficient group sessions. The book's active approach focuses on the skills necessary for starting and ending a session, as well as on how to make the middle phase productive and meaningful. Through its integration of traditional theories and concepts of group process with thoughtful strategies and specific skills, this reader-friendly book meets the needs of practicing or future counselors, social workers, psychologists, and others who are leading or preparing to lead groups in a variety of settings.

New York Times bestselling author Ron Powers offers a searching, richly researched narrative of the social history of mental illness in America paired with the deeply personal story of his two sons' battles with schizophrenia. From the centuries of torture of "lunatiks" at Bedlam Asylum to the infamous eugenics era to the follies of the anti-psychiatry movement to the current landscape in which too many families struggle alone to manage afflicted love ones, Powers limns our fears and myths about mental illness and the fractured public policies that have resulted. Braided with that history is the moving story of Powers's beloved son Kevin--spirited, endearing, and gifted--who triumphed even while suffering from schizophrenia until finally he did not, and the story of his courageous surviving son Dean, who is also schizophrenic. A blend of history, biography, memoir, and current affairs ending with a consideration of where we might go from here, this is a thought-provoking look at a dreaded illness that has long been misunderstood

Written by one of Canada's foremost authorities on young offenders and youth crime, Teenage Troubles is a concise introduction to the study of youth deviance. Updated to include the latest statistics and cutting-edge examples, this is an essential resource for anyone seeking to fully understand the key issues central to youth deviance and crime in Canada today.

This text provides a current and comprehensive overview of women and the Canadian criminal justice system. The content includes everything from an accessible overview of essential theory, to practical challenges such as mental health issues and community reintegration, to an examination of women's roles and careers in the field of criminal justice.