Library Guides: Office Administration: Start Here

You to can wear Prada!

The Power of the Office Administrator!

The drama-free workplace : how you can prevent unconscious bias, sexual harassment, ethics lapses, and inspire a healthy culture by Perez, Patti
Call Number: HF5549 .P4164
ISBN: 9781119546429
Publication Date: 2019
"The Drama-Free Workplace is a hands-on guide filled with proven strategies and guidance for creating and sustaining a cohesive, collaborative workplace culture that enables widespread innovation, increases productivity, and greater revenue." - Publisher
Office Politics : how to thrive in a world of lying, backstabbing and dirty tricks by Oliver James
Call Number: HF5386.5 .J358
ISBN: 9780091923969
Publication Date: 2014
"The modern working world is a dangerous place, where game-playing, duplicity and sheer malevolence are rife. Do talent and hard work count for nothing? Is politics everything? In this expose, the author reveals the murky underside of modern office life. It can overthrow your perceptions of office life and set you on a new path to success." - Publisher
The schmuck in my office : how to deal effectively with difficult people at work by Jody Foster
Call Number: HF5549.5 .E42 F67
ISBN: 9781250075673
Publication Date: 2017
"In her new book, Dr. Jody Foster explains the entire spectrum of schmucks, how they can decrease productivity, and generally make everyone else unhappy. After delineating the various types of schmucks, she looks at personality traits and explains how interactions among coworkers can become maladaptive leading to workplace disasters. She helps readers understand the schmuck as a person, figure out how to help him or her, and effect a positive solution." - Publisher
Toxic femininity in the workplace : office gender politics are a battlefield by Hogan, Ginny
Call Number: PN6231 .W644 H64
ISBN: 0062881221
Publication Date: 2019
"While there are myriad books on female friendship in the marketplace, Toxic Femininity is the first book on the special relationship between female coworkers and gender dynamics in the workplace to hit the market in a comedic gifty way." - Publisher

Virtually Yours!

Comprehensive Dental Assisting
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781284268126
Publication Date: 2020
"Dental assistants have to work as part of a team every day to provide patients with the best possible care and ensure that the dental office runs smoothly. As an instructor, you prepare students to have the skills and abilities they will need to be a successful part of this dental team." - Publisher

How do I use this library thing, anyway?

If you like watching stuff, than you are in luck, because I have created a fabulous audio and visual experience just for you! While it may not have the same look and feel as the movie theatre experience, you will definitely get your money's worth, and you may learn something along the way. (Honk if you learned something today!)

Get on the fast track to earning your Library Smarts Micro-Credential! (Not a real credential)

Library Collection Intro in Detail

First things... Make it your own!

Beyond the workplace zoo: humanizing the office by Oseland, Nigel
Call Number: HF5547.2 .O85
ISBN: 9780367655334
Publication Date: 2022
"Beyond the Workplace Zoo offers high-level pragmatic guidance on office design that meets innate human needs, drawing on psychology theory and research, and resulting in workplaces that enhance wellbeing and performance thus enabling the occupants to thrive rather than simply survive." - Publisher
Detail in contemporary office design by Drew Plunkett
Call Number: NK2195 .O4 P68
ISBN: 178067340X
Publication Date: 2014
"Office design has changed significantly over the last few years and is now one of the most innovative areas of interior design.It used to be the case that only the public spaces of an office were creatively designed, but increasingly the staff areas are seen as key reflections of the company brand as well. In more radical offices, there is also a growing belief in the importance of work areas as social spaces and a blurring of the distinction between work and recreation.This book explores in detail 42 of the best recent office design schemes, featuring projects from leading architects from around the world." - Publisher
The life of work : what office design can learn from the world around us by Jeremy Myerson
Call Number: NA9053 .O3 M94
ISBN: 9781908966780
Publication Date: 2014
"Life of Work: What Office Design Can Learn From the World Around Us sets out to make the twenty-first century workplace a more dynamic, engaging, colourful, flexible and inclusive place. Jeremy Myerson and Imogen Privett, from the Royal College of Art in London, looked in some unlikely places for ideas and inspiration--the academic library, theatre design, pop up events in the city and intensive team environments in air traffic control, emergency medical departments and the newsroom. Working from the position that, whilst the design of most contemporary offices satisfies physical and functional requirements, it seldom supports the psychological comfort and individual needs of the people who use them every working day, Life of Work offers an agenda for change that has significant implications for every level of workplace design and implementation." - Publisher
Office ergonomics and human factors: practical applications by McKeown, Celine
Call Number: TA166 .M3915
ISBN: 9781498799102
Publication Date: 2019
"This new edition aims to provide practical advice on how to create, develop, or improve office environments so that those individuals who work within them can do so comfortably and contently. Those environments include traditional purpose built offices, home offices, vehicle interiors, or transient environments like train stations, hotels, and airports." - Publisher

Say, what?

A short course in medical terminology by Nath, Judi L.
Call Number: R123 .C594
ISBN: 9781496351470
Publication Date: 2019
"Retaining its logical organization, body systems approach, and focus on word parts, word building, and word analysis; this 4th Edition of A Short Course in Medical Terminology reflects current medical usage and is now even more concise, student-friendly, and accessible. This edition features an enhanced art and design program, a more standardized chapter structure, and a vast array of in-text and online learning resources that help students master the language of medicine as they prepare for practice in today's rapidly changing healthcare environment." - Publisher
Dictionary of Canadian law by McCormack, Nancy
Call Number: Coming Soon!
ISBN: 9781438001517
Publication Date: 2020
The title kinda says it all.

Add that article to your Rolodex!

Because many of our journals and magazines are collected together in aggregated databases, adding and mixing several titles and publishers, searching is usually a matter of entering words and phrases that describe your topic, at least in the beginning.

(Begin here, just to get the hang of it!)

You can explore the magic of these selected collections:

Business Source Complete

ABI/INFORM Collection

CBCA Complete

LexisNexis Academic

Academic Search Premier

Research Library

Everywhere you need us to be!

Administrative dental assistant by Gaylor, Linda J.
Call Number: Coming Soon!
ISBN: 9780323672429
Publication Date: 2020
"This complete learning package is used to train dental assistants in a wide variety of settings - from traditional classroom programs to on-the-job training to use as a review tool for practitioners - to become competent administrative assistants in a dental office. As it guides you through the functions of today's dental business office, you will learn how to organize tasks, complete procedures, and acquire a professional outlook toward dentistry along the way." - Publisher
The definitive executive assistant and managerial handbook: leadership for PAs, executive assistants, senior administrators and office managers by France, Sue
Call Number: HF5547.5 .F688
ISBN: 9781398602489
Publication Date: 2022
"With the world of work profoundly disrupted by artificial intelligence, machine learning and COVID-19, the role of the executive assistant is changed forever. Learn how to respond to these challenges and help create 'the better normal' while developing the leadership skills necessary to thrive in a senior administrative position." - Publisher
Front office management for the veterinary team by Heather Prendergast
Call Number: SF756.4 .P74
ISBN: 9780323261852
Publication Date: 2015
"This complete guide to veterinary office management covers front office skills, clinical assisting tasks, critical core competencies as outlined by the Veterinary Hospital Managers Association, and pet health insurance and wellness plans." - Publisher
The office : procedures and technology by Oliverio, Mary Ellen
Call Number: HF5547.5 .O55
ISBN: 1337281360
Publication Date: 2019
"Prepare for workplace success! This proven guide will help you hone the technical skills you need for an entry-level position in an office setting, including use of email and the Internet, integrated applications and office suites, and the latest technology tools. You''ll also learn important soft skills that today's employers value, such as customer satisfaction, ethics, and telephone manners, as well as information systems and the global marketplace." - Publisher
Plunkett's procedures for the medical administrative assistant by Ramsay, Heather
Call Number: R728.8 .T478
ISBN: 9781771721967
Publication Date: 2021
"Written in a clear, engaging style, Plunkett's Procedures for the Medical Administrative Assistant, 5th Edition provides instruction for all the essential office procedures required by today's medical office administrative assistants in Canada - whether they work in a medical office, a complementary care office, or in a hospital setting. It contains the most current information available in the field, and specifically reflects health care in Canada." - Publisher
Technology in the law office by Thomas F. Goldman
Call Number: KF320 .A9 G645
ISBN: 9780133802573
Publication Date: 2016
"Technology in the Law Office is a thorough and up-to-date guide to navigating the constantly changing technology used in the modern-day legal world. Exploring recent phenomenon such as the switch to Apple-based software and paperless offices, this text is the timeliest reference for students, paralegals, and law office workers in regards to law software and technology." - Publisher

On the lighter side...

Lending a hand! by staying connected!

Association of Administrative Professionals
"With the many years of continuous learning, the members, both past and present, continue to make friendships, network and enjoy what life has to offer in the administrative arena."
International Association of Administrative Professionals
"International Association of Administrative Professionals (IAAP) is a non-profit professional association serving the administrative profession. IAAP is dedicated to helping office and administrative professionals advance their career in a demanding and ever-changing business environment. We are focused on preparing admins and stakeholders for what matters now and what’s ahead. We enhance the value that admins bring to the table and advocate for the profession as it evolves to encompass the role of business partner and leader. IAAP provides admins with the knowledge, skills, and insights that build toward job advancement, success, and recognition. We also provide a community of individuals who have shared goals, responsibilities, challenges, opportunities, and strengths."

Look here!

Dental assistants and hygienists : a practical career guide by Endsley, Kezia
Call Number: RK60.5 .E53
ISBN: 9781538111819
Publication Date: 2019
"If you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more." - Publisher
The politics of promotion : how high-achieving women get ahead and stay ahead by Bonnie R. Marcus
Call Number: HF5382.6 .M37
ISBN: 9781118997420
Publication Date: 2015
"Break into the power circle and build relationships that advance careers. The Politics of Promotion offers women the tools and guidance they need to successfully navigate the realities of their organization, emphasizing the need to understand office politics to get the promotions and recognition they deserve." - Publisher

Interview Prep!

Career Info!

Looking for:

►career exploration resources

►resume and cover letter advice

►interviewing tips

►career search guidance...

Check out my Career Info for Students: keeping ahead of the competition! (guide)

And don't forget: Careers for New Canadians: get in the game!