The dictionary combines coverage of international English with information on English as it is particularly used in Canada. This edition contains 5,000 new words and senses. It features 2,200 uniquely Canadian words and senses, 350 usage notes, 7,000 idiomatic expressions, 5,500 biographical entries, and over 5,600 place names.
This book highlights fire-fighting as one of the nation's most dangerous and hazardous jobs, with heart attacks, high physical stress levels, sprains, and strains all too common. Of all fire-fighters in the United States, 72 percent are volunteers. The leading cause of on-duty death among volunteers is heart attack. The leading cause of injuries for all fire-fighters is overexertion and strain. The prevalence of cardiovascular illness and deaths and work-inhibiting strains and sprains among fire-fighters illustrates the need for a comprehensive health and wellness program in every department. To address the issues specific to volunteers, the National Volunteer Fire Council (NVFC) developed this guide to health and wellness for volunteer departments and members. In 2003, the NVFC launched the ground breaking Heart-Healthy Firefighter Program specifically to address heart disease in the fire and emergency services. This awareness and prevention campaign targets all fire-fighters and emergency personnel -- both volunteer and career. This is an edited, excerpted and augmented edition of a U.S. Fire Administration publication.
The trusted content from Delmar Cengage Learning's Firefighter's Handbook is now newly revised to truly meet the needs of Canadian firefighters! This Canadian Firefighter's Handbook divides need-to-know firefighting content into separate sections for Firefighter I, Firefighter II and Hazardous Materials, Terrorism and Disaster Response, while meeting 100% of the 2008 NFPA Standard 1001 and the Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations requirements of the 2008 NFPA Standard 472. This book touches on new practices, technology and initiatives that are a consideration for all firefighters. Current topics include large incident and disaster response, fire life safety initiatives, managing air supply, predicting building collapse, GPS technology, thermal imaging use in search and rescue, and more! In addition, content in this version includes the metric system as primary measurement method and reflects the uniqueness of the Canadian fire service history and Canadian national requirements.
Now in a striking four-color format, Introduction To Fire Protection, 4E reflects the latest FESHE outlines and NFPA fire codes and ordinances as it provides all the necessary tools for individuals seeking a career in the fire service. Written by a widely respected firefighter instructor and authority, this comprehensive resource emphasizes the vital skills needed by successful firefighters. It includes up-to-the-minute coverage of incident effectiveness, customer service, physical fitness, training, and fire prevention. It also covers such cutting-edge issues as homeland security, goal setting, life safety initiatives, recent laws affecting firefighters, fire fighter emergency decision making, and other developments straight from the field.
Firefighters, law enforcement officers, and emergency medical service responders play a critical role in protecting people and property in the event of fires, medical emergencies, terrorist acts, and numerous other emergencies. The authors examine the hazards that responders face and the personal protective technology needed to contend with those hazards. The findings are based on in-depth discussions with 190 members of the emergency responder community and are intended to help define the protective technology needs of responders and develop a comprehensive personal protective technology research agenda.