Library Guides: Child and Youth Care: Articles

Recommended eResources

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology database with full-text journals, eBooks, conference papers.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General academic database covers social sciences, humanities, pure and applied science, education, and multi-cultural studies. Full-text and peer-reviewed content.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full text psychology articles on topics such as counselling, addictions, developmental psychology, stress management, health psychology, personality.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Over 700 newspapers from 70 countries in 37 languages in the original full-page and full-colour format. Articles in many newspapers can be translated into one of ten foreign languages. Includes Globe and Mail (on-campus access only), Toronto Star, and National Post.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian magazines, trade publications and academic journals in all subject areas.
Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Includes content in the areas of public policy, sociology, business and economics, and features over 220,000 publications from 4000+ organizations including the University of Toronto Press, University of British Columbia, McGill-Queen's University Press, Humber College, Crown Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada, Health Canada, and many more.

Recommended eJournals

Child & Youth Care Forum
International Journal of Child, Youth and Family Studies
Relational Child & Youth Care Practice
Relational Child and Youth Care Practice (formerly The Journal of Child & Youth Care, established 1982) is committed to promoting and supporting the profession of Child and Youth Care through disseminating the knowledge and experience of individuals involved in the day-to-day lives of young people.

Recommended Magazines

OverDrive Magazines This link opens in a new window
Over 4000+ popular magazine titles covering a wide range of topics and languages.

Public Policy Documents

Canadian public policy organizations are a good source of information if you are looking for commentary on public policy.

Use the University of Saskatchewan's Canadian Public Policy Custom Search Engine to search over 200 public policy organization websites at once.

Keep in mind that the information you find through this search is grey literature and is not peer reviewed. Also keep in mind that some information you find may be biased, as many of these documents are making an argument and may not necessarily present both sides of an issue.