Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence against Women
In 1991, the Government of Canada declared Dec.6 the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women. Fourteen women were gunned down at L’Ecole Polytechnique in Montreal in an act of misogynistic violence. This day is a time for Canadians to reflect on the fact that women around the world face disproportionate levels of violence every day.
Acclaimed Métis filmmaker Christine Welsh brings us a compelling documentary that puts a human face on a national tragedy – the epidemic of missing or murdered Indigenous women in Canada. The film takes a journey into the heart of Indigenous women's experience, from Vancouver's skid row, down the Highway of Tears in northern BC, and on to Saskatoon, where the murders and disappearances of these women remain unsolved.
The Burning Times
This documentary takes an in-depth look at the witch hunts that swept Europe just a few hundred years ago. False accusations and trials led to massive torture and burnings at the stake and ultimately to the destruction of an organic way of life. The film questions whether the widespread violence against women and the neglect of our environment today can be traced back to those times.
After the Montreal Massacre
December 6, 1989. Sylvie Gagnon was attending her last day of classes at the University of Montreal's École Polytechnique, when Marc Lépine entered the building. Separating the women from the men, he opened fire on the women students, yelling 'You're all a bunch of feminists.' Sylvie survived, while fourteen other women were murdered. This video makes the connection between the massacre and male violence against women, setting the stage for an exploration of misogyny and sexism.
Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and Two-Spirit People
Centennial Libraries Learning Series on YouTube
Drawing power: women's stories of sexual violence, harassment, and survival : a comics anthology by Noomin, Diane; Gay, Roxane
Pub date: 2019
More than 60 female comics creators share their personal experiences with sexual violence and harassment through new and original comics.
Violence against women: vulnerable populations by Brownridge, Douglas A.
Pub date: 2009
Violence Against Women: Vulnerable Populations investigates under-researched and underserved groups of women who are particularly vulnerable to violent victimization from an intimate male partner. In the past, there has been an understandable reluctance to address this issue to avoid stereotyping vulnerable groups of women. However, developments in the field, particularly intersectionality theory, which recognizes women's diversity in experiences of violence, suggest that the time has come to make the study of violence in vulnerable populations a new sub-field in the area.
Invisible no more: police violence against black women and women of color by Ritchie, Andrea J.
Pub date: 2017
A timely examination of the ways Black women, Indigenous women, and other women of color are uniquely affected by racial profiling, police brutality, and immigration enforcement.
The apology by Ensler, Eve
Pub date: 2019
Like millions of women, Eve Ensler has been waiting much of her lifetime for an apology. Sexually and physically abused by her father, Eve has struggled her whole life from this betrayal, longing for an honest reckoning from a man who is long dead. After years of work as an anti-violence activist, she decided she would wait no longer; an apology could be imagined, by her, for her, to her. The Apology, written by Eve from her father's point of view in the words she longed to hear, attempts to transform the abuse she suffered with unflinching truthfulness, compassion, and an expansive vision for the future.
The time has come: why men must join the Gender Equality Revolution by Kaufman, Michael
Pub date: 2019
The Time Has Come offers a plain-spoken and forthright look at why and how men need to actively fight for gender equality. As the co-founder of the White Ribbon Campaign, the largest effort in the world of men seeking to end violence against women, Michael Kaufman is an authority on the subject of gender equality. His new book explores how a culture based in toxic masculinity hurts both women and men (and their children), how men can become better allies in smashing the patriarchy, and how real gender equality creates advancements in both the workplace and the global economy.
Gender Studies eCollection
Full-text journals with coverage of gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and more.
Full-text to more than 300 journals from the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports.
Access over 1100 Canadian documentaries, animation and alternative dramas.
Video streaming access to educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Includes documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material.
Access to the library's online subscription resources (which includes e-books, e-journals, databases and streaming videos) requires authentification by entering your myCentennial ID and password when prompted.