Library Guides: BI230 Ecology Library Research Methods: Food Security Research

Part A: Using UN Resources to Understand Food Security

Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.

FAO AQUASTAT Database
Use this database to search a particular country's water and agriculture related data.
FAO AQUASTAT Irrigation and Drainage
Use the Irrigation and Drainage specific Aquastat website to find summary information on regions and countries irrigation and drainage activities, as well as maps.
FAO Global Map of Irrigated Land
A world map of the percentage of land irrigated.

Part B: Finding research about insect stressors/pests

Use your training from VS242 to do background research to develop keywords to find a relevant article on your country, crop, and insect stressor/pest.

Science Database This link opens in a new window
Over 1,600 titles with more than 1,270 available in full text. Access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General academic database covers social sciences, humanities, pure and applied science, education, and multi-cultural studies. Full-text and peer-reviewed content.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Latest editions of key reference tools in science and technology disciplines. Includes reference articles, dictionary terms and biographies.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Access expires on June 30, 2024.

Full-text guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million words.

Food Security Concept Map

Part C: Reading and Applying Scholarly Research

Western University Libraries. (2012). How to read a scholarly article. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/3SmOq6gENPM

BI230 Ecology Library Research Methods

Part A: Using UN Resources to Understand Food Security

Part B: Finding research about insect stressors/pests

Food Security Concept Map

Part C: Reading and Applying Scholarly Research

Food Security Research Logs